We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red's Sandwich Shop

Red's Sandwich Shop
15 Central St, Salem, MA 01970-3702
978-745-3527
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 182 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Located in the Old London Coffee House, which dates back to the 1700s, Red’s Sandwich Shop has been visited by many Celebrities, Congressman, Senators and even First Lady Barbara Bush. A relaxed, friendlly atmosphere in a historic building is the perfect place to join Salem locals for the BEST breafkast and lunch menu in town. The food is delicious, all home-style cooking at pricing so reasonable you almost feel guilty. Having visited numerous restaurants in Salem that charge outrageous pricing for mediocre food, Red's Sandwich Shop is the crown jewel of the city in terms of excellent food, great prices, and a lovely environment with a friendly staff. They offer an extensive breakfast and lunch menu, Dinner Specials, and a daily $6.95 Special.. And when they say roasted turkey, they mean roasted turkey -- whole turkeys are roasted on the premises and carved for your order. In a tribute to Thanksgiving, their Home Style Turkey Sandwich (roasted turkey, dressing, cranberry sauce and gravy) is out of this world! Wonderful specialty items from Chicken Marsala and Chicken Piccata to Chicken Pot Pie are made to order. Soups and chowders made fresh daily. For a variety of sandwiches from open-faced, to club, to roll-ups -- they cannot be beat. Red's is an award-winning restaurant that received the "BEST BREAKFAST ON THE NORTH SHORE" award for 24 years in a row! I cannot rave enough about this restaurant. If you have only one restaruant to visit in Salem, make it Red's.
River Edge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

For a great breakfast in Salem this is the place. Great variety of omelets and other choices, food is fresh and delicious. Good coffee too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    131
    50
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast as it should be served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stopped for breakfast. Eggs were cooked to order and came out hot and fresh. Service was friendly and attentive throughout our meal. Most impressed by the 'Lobster Benedict' which was just lobster cakes topped with poached eggs and an abundance of Hollandaise sauce. My only quibble was with the home fries which were large pieces of par-boiled potatoes and nowhere near crisp enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Plain & Average Food, Cash ONLY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

For the record, this is the 2nd time we've eaten here. I was truly hoping this 2nd time would be a better experience....but it wasn't. Everyone was just standing around talking and laughing instead of checking on customers or anything to be busy. We had to ask 2 times for a refill of our water. It was hot and we were thirsty. Our food was good...but just average. Nothing special. I didn't want potato chips with my sandwich and asked if I could substitute something different and she said yes and offered cole slaw...didn't tell me until the bill came that it would be an ADDITIONAL $2.... overall not a friendly place to go spend your money....they act like you should be thanking you for spending your money there....AND THEY ONLY ACCEPT CASH!!!!!!!!!! Never again will I eat here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate at Red's Sandwich Shop during our four day trip to Salem and it was definitely worth it. We barely made the closing time on Sunday but were welcomed and the "breakfast" for lunch was excellent. Clearly, this is comfort food and very well done. The staff are very personable and enhanced our time there. We would eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Breakfasts have never been among my favorite meals. But Red's changed my mind. The omelets are to die for: my favorite is the tomato, spinach and cheese, accompanied by home fries and raisin toast. Plus, a large glass of tomato juice. Substantial portions, which means that I take at least half of the meal home to finish it there. My spouse loves the omelet with corned beef hash. Excellent waitstaff. Very crowded in the morning, so we go there between breakfast and lunch. A real community treasure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red's Sandwich Shop also viewed

 

Been to Red's Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red's Sandwich Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.