We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Selection of Food Drink at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salem Beer Works

Salem Beer Works
278 Derby St, Salem, MA 01970-3635
978-745-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 214 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Green Brook, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Selection of Food Drink at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Awesome Brew available, recommend the fried dough and beer cheese dip. Good selection of appetizers sandwiches and fresh fish.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    144
    71
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Noisy but the food was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Its a brew pub with its own beers...... We were a family of 3 that ate there. The beer was good as was the food. It was very noisy inside. One of us had the flank steak, one had a burger, and one had chili - all said it was good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“ReVamped and Better than Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I like the lay out of the bar and the beer selections. The menu seems updated and the hummus & charcuterie plates were yummy! The bartender (as you know we only eat at the bar) was very and knowledgeable about the food & beer. I will definitely be returning.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The greatest beer in the world... literally.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I live about 100 miles away, yet I make at least 4 trips here a year. Honestly, I'd drive up here just for the FOOD, let alone the beer.

I've traveled the world in search of the best beer, and nobody tops Salem Beer Works. Sadly, they've changed over the years (I wish they left it like they originally had it, but what are you gonna do?) And they've definitely had their bad brewmasters that bring the beer down, but they always seem to come back.

For as long as they do, I'll keep coming back to one of my favorite haunts, even though they are a LITTLE pricey... but it's worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Food was delicious, atmosphere was great. Would highly recommended stopping and grabbing a bite to eat and a beer.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salem Beer Works also viewed

 

Been to Salem Beer Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salem Beer Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.