We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
22 Hardy Street, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Bob is a very gracious host. Very personable and caring from the minute we arrived to the minute we departed. Morning Glory is very well appointed to all the town of Salem has to offer. Breakfast is delicious. The house is immaculate. And Bob is a true gentleman.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so very much for your lovely review of your recent stay at Morning Glory! I personally feel that the highest compliment one can pay is that of genuinely warm hospitality! I truly treat my guests as close friends and want nothing more than for them to walk away with the exact same feeling! Thank you and I hope that you and your lovely Mom, and maybe your husband on your next visit, can come and stay again with me at Morning Glory! I send you both my very best!!

Warm regards,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    49
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
85
636
66
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, N.Y.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, great hospitality, interesting guests and a wonderful breakfast ... Definitely a terrific place to stay when visiting Salem. Bob was a gracious and welcoming host. Know that the Bishop room is very small for two people, especially if you like to relax in your room ... But if the weather cooperates, definitely take advantage of the roof deck. One suggestion - it would be helpful to have a binder available with local restaurant menus.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so very much for your terrific review of your stay at Morning Glory! Thank you for your high marks on the location, the hospitality and the home made breakfasts! A very good point on the restaurant binder and as a matter of fact, I used to keep one in the common area but found that time and time again, guests would prefer to ask me, a local, my suggestion on restaurants as I think that sometimes guests prefer a personal opinion. Having said that, it is probably a good idea to provide both, just to cover all bases, so thank you for your suggestion. And finally I must agree with you that Morning Glory is a perfect base to explore all the wonders of this magical city! Please do come and visit again and until then, I send you both my very best!

Warm regards,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved the Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast. We booked into the Sarah Good Suite and it has a beautiful bedroom and ensuite, PLUS a private sitting room, PLUS access to the outdoor upstairs deck with views of the harbour. Furnishings and little extras are lovely. You can access this room via the front door and up the indoor stairs, or via the rear stairs and the upstairs deck, so no need to go through the house. The outdoor deck has a number of sunlounges, chairs and tables, nice to have a drink at sunset. Breakfast room is cozy and Bob provided a lovely spread.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello folks and thank you for submitting such a lovely review! The third floor Sarah Good suite certainly has many PLUSES as you put it and I am so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! The reclining lounge chairs, the swivel chairs, the high top chairs and tables provide guest with many optioins for relaxing on the roof top deck. I am happy to read as well that you enjoyed the home made breakfasts! Should you venture back to Salem, I would love to have you stay with me again! Until then, I send you both my very best!

Warm regards,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the very comfortable Rebecca Nurse room on 2 separate occasions, at the start and end of our travels through New England, a total of 4 nights. The Innkeeper, Bob, was an excellent host, and keeps a very clean B&B. There is a lounge for guests where you can access the internet and enjoy a coffee. There is also free WiFi throughout the property. Bob very kindly used his car to drive us to the local Hertz Car Rental depot, and his help with our luggage was much appreciated.
We enjoyed the peace and quiet of both his roof terrace with Harbour views, and ground floor garden. The B&B is pleasantly located in a cul-de-sac next to Salem Harbour, and is adjacent to one of the sights in Salem: "The House of the Seven Gables".
Salem is a very interesting place to visit. The PEM museum was a delight, and the historic part of Salem is only a short walk away (10 mins) from the B&B. We also enjoyed the hop on hop off tram ride around Salem; an excellent commentary to give you a good view of what to do and see in the city.
Our favourite restaurant for evening meal was Bella Verona run by an Italian family, and Victoria Station was also good. Both restaurants are within easy walking distance from the B&B. One day we took the high speed ferry from Salem to Boston, just under an hour each way, and well worth the experience.
We would highly recommend Morning Glory B&B as the place stay whilst visiting Salem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello David and Kath and many thanks for your very positive review of your stay with me at Morning Glory! I am always pleased to read that guests are able to find time to simply relax at Morning Glory at some point during their busy day touring. The roof top deck with ocean views, the second floor shaded covered porch with table and chairs and the garden patio all offer a very peaceful and tranquil oasis to simply do nothing but relax. Thank you as well for your wonderful compliments with respect to cleanliness, location and hospitality! It was my pleasure indeed to drive you to the car rental here in Salem! I hope you are able to come and visit with me again and until then, I send you both my very best!

Warm regards,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the Sarah good room for 3 nights in sept 2013. Excellent host warm and welcoming. Great room and facilities had the whole top floor to ourselves. Clean and comfy and quiet. We'll located for Salem delights and surrounding area. Keep up the good work bob. thanks again for my blouses and trousers. Helen and andy. Xxx

Room Tip: I think we had the best room Sarah good. On the top floor great views and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Helen and Andy and thank you so very much for taking time to post your wonderful review! I am so very happy that you enjoyed having the Sarah Good suite all to yourselves! It is indeed quite spacious and quite private as well! How delightful it is in the early mornings to make yourself a cup of fresh coffee and step right outside your door on to the spacious third floor roof deck and relax with the sunrise and the fresh ocean air! Thank you for all of your kind words Helen and I hope that you and Andy might come and visit with me again. Until that time, I send you both my very best!

Warm regards,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is what you want in a B&B! Beautiful, clean, quiet, and conveniently located. I stayed here 3 nights in August, and enjoyed my stay very much. It is an easy walk to the Salem attractions, which is nice because you really don't want to have to park a car. Its side street location ensures that it is quiet. Good, healthy breakfast, free wireless internet, friendly owner, etc. This is where I will stay when I return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Tbar and thank you for your flattering post to TripAdvisor of your stay here at Morning Glory in August! I am so happy to read that you found Morning Glory to hold all that you wanted in a B&B...clean, beautiful and ideally situated and yet at the same time, very quiet at night. The fact that Morning Glory is located on a dead end street next to beautiful Salem Harbor always ensures a very quiet nights sleep, void of any noise from traffic. I am equally delighted that Morning Glory is your "go to" B&B whenever you find yourself back in our beautiful historic city! Until your next visit, I send you my very best!

Warm regards,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Morning Glory has the lot. Charming room on the second floor, roof top terrace, garden with BBQ tasty breakfast and an excellent location. Park the car and walk to all of Salem's historic attractions. Bob was the perfect host. THE PLACE TO STAY IN SALEM!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello Ron and thank you so much for your terrific post regarding your recent stay here at Morning Glory! I am happy that with the beautiful fall weather, you were able to take full advatage of both the roof top deck with ocean views and the garden patio to relax at the end of your busy days touring Historic Salem! Morning Glory indeed has an 'excellent location' as you mentioin, so that you can leave your car and take in all of the sights and restaurants by foot. And finally Ron, thank you for complimenting me as your host! Should you venture back this way, I would love to have you and your lovely wife stay with me again. I send you both my very best!

Warm regards,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22 Hardy Street, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Bed And Breakfast
Morning Glory Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.