We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
22 Hardy Street, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in Rebecca Nurse room and it was very comfortable with lots of charm. There is a communal sitting room on the same floor which has a fridge and general computer. The wifi is a good link too. The location is perfect and an easy walk to the whole of Salem and near lots of restaurants. Breakfasts are lovely with homemade scones and pastries. The hosts - Bob's parents - were wonderfully helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hello folks and thank you for your lovely review! Sorry I missed you but it sounds like Mom and Dad took very good care of you both in my absence!! So happy to read that you enjoyed our homemade breakfast and that you found our home to be within easy walking distance of all that Salem has to offer. Please do come back again so that I may have the pleasure of meeting you both. Until then, I send you my very best!

Warm regards,
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    47
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
82
631
66
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there last summer and loved it! The food was excellent...our room was charming, and our hosts were wonderful...so helpful, accommodating. We will definitely be going back. Colleen & Chris Davis

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hi Colleen and Chris and thank you for your brief yet flattering review packed with a punch! 'Excellent', 'Charming', 'Wonderful', 'Helpful', 'Accommodating'...These are all words of praise that we are very appreciative of! We are thrilled to read that you will definitely be coming back to Salem and to Morning Glory and until that time, we send you both our very best!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Region of New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

For our third trip to Morning Glory we stayed in the Sarah Goode suite. This is an incredibly comfortable, private room. It occupies the entire third floor of the original house. A large bedroom with a queen-sized bed, large chair, wardrobe, and two dressers occupies one end of the suite. A large sitting room separated by the bathroom comprises the other end of the suite. The sitting room has a huge sofa and two large chairs, the television, a coffee maker, and a small (dorm sized) refrigerator. Both rooms have their own air conditioner. The suite opens to the third floor deck with tables and lounge chairs. We have never seen anyone else up there except for the 4th of July.

There are two considerations about the suite. If you must have a bathtub this is not for you. The bathroom has only a large, comfortable shower stall. It's not like the typical contortionist phone booth often found in Europe. But you do need to coordinate with your partner on your location when the other occupies the bathroom.

You can not watch television from the bed as the only tv is in the sitting room.

Otherwise all the other amenities of Morning Glory prevail. There is the great location, wonderful breakfast, and the friendly, charming hosts Bob and Marcel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Many, many thanks rkorchid for your splendid review of your third stay with us at Morning Glory! Stretched out on one of the many recliners on the third floor roof deck truly is a front row seat to take in the magnificent 4th of July fireworks! The amazing spray of color from this unbelievable display of celebration seems so close, you could reach out and touch them! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again next year for yet another spectacular July 4th in Salem! Until then, we send you both our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed this B&B and would love to come back when it is not raining so much! They have a nice top floor deck, where you can enjoy the view with a bottle of wine. Breakfast was delicious and the location is convenient; right across from the House of Seven Gables, well worth seeing. All the rooms are very nice and coffee, tea and water are available all day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello Mary and many thanks for submitting your lovely review! So sorry about the rain but as hard as we strive to provide our guests with the very best we have to offer, some things, like the weather, are out of our hands. Although the rain may have slightly slowed you down, it certainly didn't stop you from taking in all the wonders our beautiful and historic city of Salem has to offer! Thank you for your kind words and please do come and visit with us again so that you can hopefully, with Mother Nature's cooperation, enjoy our roof top deck with a bottle of wine and ocean views! Until then, we send you both our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I'd been wanting to visit Salem ever since I saw Hocus Pocus as a child. Sure, that may not be the best reason to want to visit a town, but it's just something I've wanted to do for a long time. I recently moved to New York from California, so I'm closer than I've ever been. After looking up how much it would cost to get to Salem by bus (only $35!), I decided to go ahead and do it. I had a few days off, so why not?

First, let me say that Morning Glory is the most adorable little place. Even from the outside, it feels extremely homey and welcoming. Bob and Marcel were incredibly kind from the moment we stepped through the door.

After showing us around, Bob pointed the way to our room. We had the Rebecca Nurse room for one night. Originally, we'd planned on booking the suite or Elizabeth Howe, but they were booked on the days we planned on visiting Salem. I was a bit disappointed at first, but only because I loved the look of the Suite and the Howe room. However, I was pleasantly surprised upon entering Rebecca Nurse.

I grew up in Kentucky, so I'm very much used to the type of rooms that Morning Glory has. They aren't the type of thing you find in New York City or LA. They have an old-fashioned feeling to them without sacrificing style and cleanliness. I felt at home for the first time in a long time. The room was spotless and beautiful.

When we'd put our bags down, Bob took some time to show us some places on the map of Salem that he thought we might be interested in. While we didn't make it to many of them, we both really appreciated the time and effort Bob and Marcel invest in their guests. You don't find this kind of service anywhere else.

After spending most of the day out, we came back and went to sleep (on what was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in). The next morning, we were ready for the "breakfast" portion of the bed and breakfast. It seemed that Bob was not in at the moment, so his adorable mother was serving breakfast. The food was delicious, and Bob's parents (his father came in as we were finishing our meal) were really sweet.

All in all, this is really the perfect B&B experience. I only wish we could have stayed longer! But I'll definitely be back as soon as I can. Thanks, Bob and Marcel! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi MoonDoggie and many thanks for submitting such a detailed and flattering post of your one night stay at our home! Thank you, thank you for your many kind words from the hospitality to the comfortable beds! We are sorry we were unable to see you both off the following morning but we are happy to hear that Mom and Dad took very good care of you in our absence! They really are the best!!! Please do come and visit with us again for a few more days so that we can get to know you both a little better. We send you both our very best!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A beautifully presented property with lovely decor. Our bedroom was spotless and delightful, and the bed was most comfortable. Bob and Marcel were lovely hosts and Marcel's breakfasts were superb. The location was very good, being peaceful but within walking distance of everything! And the off street parking was a bonus. If we return to the area, this will be our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hello Paul and thank you so much for sharing your many positive remarks about your recent stay at Morning Glory! We truly love opening up our home to our guests and providing them with the best possible experience a B&B has to offer. Thank you for allowing other TirpAdvisor travelers an insight into your stay with us! We are delighted to read that should you return to Salem at some future date that Morning Glory will be your first choice in accommodations! Until then, we send you both our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have been travelling around the coast and The Morning Glory has proved to be the best B & B we have been to. Bob & Marcel are lovely guys, great hosts & made us feel very welcome in theire lovely home. It is immaculatly clean & very comfortable the homemade breakfast was delicious, Marcel preparing mine to meet my sugar free diabetic requirements how wonderful. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Jan and many thanks for wasting no time in posting your lovely review to TripAdvisor!! You and your husband, Ian, were such wonderful guests!! We too wished that you could have stayed longer but we are hopeful that you both can return one day and stay with us in our home again! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our home made breakfasts! Marcel was more than happy to accommodate your specific dietay requirements...it was no prolem at all. Until your next visit, Jan, we send you both our very best!!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22 Hardy Street, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Bed And Breakfast
Morning Glory Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.