We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn, great location, terrific hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
22 Hardy Street, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Decatur, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely inn, great location, terrific hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The first thing I saw when we crossed into the Salem city limit was a Wal-Mart! Expecting some commercialization but also some local color, uniqueness, and history, I began to wonder if this adventure had been a huge mistake. Fortunately my spirits (no pun intended) were lifted when we got into the center of town. Salem is commercial but has fewer kitschy stores, more picturesque residences, and far more history than I had expected; and the Morning Glory is perfectly situated to take advantage of Salem's spectacular views, centuries-old architecture, and rich local history. Hosts Bob and Marcel made us feel right at home and gave us invaluable advice about local restaurants, stores, and sights. They'll even give you gardening tips if you like (and Marcel's gardens are beautiful). And did I mention that you're right across the street from Hawthorne's birthplace (well, the house--it's been moved to its current location) and The House of the Seven Gables (yes, it's real--and it's centuries old)? The inn is only a couple of blocks away from the the center of town--close enough for convenience of shopping and far enough away from the noise to get a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you folks for taking time to submit such a terrific review of your recent stay! As you discovered, Salem is a city steeped in history. Although the Salem Witch Hysteria of 1692 is a part of that history, it is just a piece of the pie. In addition, Salem has a very rich maritime history and the architecture is second to none! We are thrilled that you were pleasantly surprised and just as thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at Morning Glory! Thank you for all of your compliments and until the next visit, we send you both our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    47
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
82
631
66
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a great B&B. superb location, fantastic hosts, great accommodation and Marcel whips up the best pancakes in the USA. I could go on and on about the gardens, great off street parking, the welcoming friendship offered by the hosts Bob and Marcel and did I mention the pancakes...This place is fantastic, and makes a trip to Salem even more memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Wow...thank you for such a fantastic review! So very happy that you found a "home away from home" here at Morning Glory!! - "superb", "fantastic", "great", "welcoming"... We truly appreciate all of your kind words!! We are delighted as well that you found Marcel's pancakes to be the "best" ever! Should you get the chance again to come to Historic Salem, we would love to welcome you back into our home! Our very best to you both!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Morning Glory B & B is elegant, but welcoming; cozy but spacious; quiet but located near major Salem attractions. I stayed in the Sarah Good Suite, - which is the entire top floor of the lovingly restored 3-story Victorian - a spacious bedroom, private bath and sitting room, leading to a roof-top deck with a view of the ocean. Breakfast was delicious. Marcel and Bob have created an absolutely lovely haven, directly across the street from the House of the Seven Gables. They are very knowledgeable about Salem - its history, attractions, restaurant, performances. I travel a lot and have stayed in many lovely places, but have never been so entirely enchanted by a hostelry!

Room Tip: The Sarah Good Suite is spacious and very quiet...all the cozy charm of a B & B, and all the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi LunaSombra and thank you for taking time to post such a terrific review to TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to read that we were able to strike the perfect balance for you during your recent stay at Morning Glory. The third floor suite is indeed very spacious and the ocean views from the roof deck are spectacular! So happy that you found an "enchanting haven" here at Morning Glory! Please do come back and visit with us again! We send you our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our first time in Salem and at a B & B. The Inn was charming and so very cozy. Marcel and Bob made us feel at home right away. They also were very helpful with any questions and information needed. The breakfasts were wonderful and a great start to our day. We would highly recommend this Inn. We parked our car the day we arrived and walked everywhere we needed to go. We are looking forward to our next stay, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello Holly and thank you so much for posting your lovely review! Assuring that our guests are welcomed, comfortable and informed upon arrival is of utmost importance to us. We are happy to read that we met your needs in all of these areas. Many thanks for your compliments regarding our home made breakfast and until your return visit, we wish you both our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

There is only one place to stay in Salem - the Morning Glory! After staying there years and years every fall, the B&B is still fantastic! The hosts are spectacular, the rooms are fabulous, and the breakfasts are exceptionally delicious! For a friendly and relaxing stay in Salem, you have to visit the MG! We're booked for next fall already.....we love you, Bob and Marcel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Rose and Dan and thank you so very much for posting your wonderful review to TripAdvisor! What can we say? Fourteen years ago you stayed with us for the very first time and then every year since! You walked through our doors as guests, quickly transitioned to friends and now, family! As crazy as the month of October can be, we always look forward to the day that you two walk through our doors again into our home! And so, we look forward to next October and until then, we send you both our very best!!!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

With all of our vacations taken this was our first stay at a Bread & Breakfast - great choice! Very clean, lovely homey feeling, great food. I would highly recommend them if you're looking for a place to stay in Salem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you folks for your lovely post to TripAdvisor! We are happy that you chose Morning Glory as your first B&B experience and we are even happier that you were satisfied with your choice! Thank you for your kind words and please do come and visit with us again should you get the chance!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our second trip to Salem, MA and Bob and Marcel made us feel like we never left. They are so welcoming and make you feel like one of the family. Marcel's cooking is some of the best I have ever tasted. I just wish he would sell his cheese bread. :) The rooms are immaculate and the colors are perfect. We have stayed there twice now and would not even think of going somewhere else when we are in Salem. Thank you Bob and Marcel for a wonderful job. See you again in 2 years!!

Room Tip: Any room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi Lacey and thank you so much for taking time to post such a terrific review to TripAdvisor! As we have mentioned many times before, a repeat guest speaks volumes and we are always delighted to welcome back "home" good friends we have made over the years! We truly appreciate your very kind words and I will work on Marcel and that cheese bread recipe for you! Our very best to you all and we look forward to seeing you again in two years!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22 Hardy Street, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Bed And Breakfast
Morning Glory Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.