We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cobble stone path” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex Street Pedestrian Mall

Essex Street Pedestrian Mall
Salem, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 30 Shopping in Salem
Type: Malls, Shopping
Activities: City walk sightseeing
Attraction details
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Cobble stone path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Was so much fun seeing this street in day and night because the experience was so different. The shops aren't over priced and if you're looking for a souvenir from a t-shirt to postcard this is the place to go! I would highly suggest buying a t-shirt outside the little mall as the guy working inside isn't the most pleasant person to deal with. He sighs while rolling his eyes often.

You can find the exact same shirt outside the mall at the same cost. Actually if you go to Red's sandwich shop down past the Trolley shop first there placemat has saving coupons for a few places on Essex Street.

There isn't many washrooms available along the street. The few that are along the street are in cafes or restaurants and are only for paying customers. Buy a drink and they'll let you use the bathroom. Inside the mall there is a bathroom but I would suggest straying away from this dirty place at all cost!!!! Buy the beverages to use the cafes your money will be well spent!

During the night there's a different feel to the street. The shops start to close down and the creepy horror characters come out at night. There was a Jason dressed up and playing the theme music that had me scared beyond all belief!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cobble Stone Streets are a Step Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

In the summer my friend Sherry and I took a flight to Boston MA and traveled about 12 miles or so up the road to Salem MA. It was beautiful. The place that we stayed was in walking distance to all of the site seeing adventures. We stayed 7 days and never had a boring moment. All the shops, the tours,the history of the town, the ghost nightly tours, the smell of the ocean and yes we even took a walk through the cemetary. This place is worth the vacation time to learn a little history and visit the many sites such as dead horse beach. The story behind the beach is sad, but interesting. And to learn about the underground tunnels.Did you know the Boston Strangler was walked underground in the tunnels from Boston and housed in the Salem jail? I also learned about that while in Salem.The houses are beautiful and many have the widows walk. Never knew about the widows walk until my visit to Salem. This trip was a lot of fun and if all works out I'll be back for the Halloween in Salem 2013.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great During October!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited the mall every day we were in Salem. The storefronts in the mall are not particularly exciting, but the street vendors out during the month of October are great! You also see lots of great costumes. This is a must if you happen to be in Salem near Halloween.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Love this street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Some of my favorite places are on the pedestrian mall... the Broom Closet, Omen, Crow Haven Corner, Rockefellas, Rita's...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I found it to be very interesting and fascinating. It was great to see all the displays and people in costume walking around.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essex Street Pedestrian Mall also viewed

 

Been to Essex Street Pedestrian Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex Street Pedestrian Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.