We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish consistently” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 62 Restaurant and Wine Bar

62 Restaurant and Wine Bar
62 Wharf St, Salem, MA 01970
978-744-0062
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
62 Restaurant and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 217 restaurants in Salem
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Derby Street
Description: 62 Restaurant & Wine Bar is a modern Italian restaurant and Wine Bar serving contemporary versions of rustic Italian cuisine in downtown Salem. Chef Antonio Bettencourt and his team are dedicated to using the best locally-sourced, all natural ingredients in season and at the peak of flavor. The cooking at 62 shows true soul and a dedication to the “craft” of cooking. 62 is perfect for the wine lover. Our List showcases the wines of the world chosen especially to match our original and distinctive cuisine. Our cool and seductive bar and lounge are the perfect setting to start your night with one of our signature cocktails and martinis which feature fresh juices and house made purees. Relax and enjoy our full menu or just sample our Antipasti or handmade pastas while sipping one of our daring cocktails.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delish consistently”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Love this restaurant, excellent service, food and atmosphere. What more can I say. Pasta duck dish perfect.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    80
    22
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing indeed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Salem for the second time for Halloween we booked a table here. Beautiful setting, venue and ambience. The staff were exceptional and very attentive. The menu looked interesting. We ordered bread which came a think slices with done very pale looking olive oil... We had to ask for balsamic! Two of us ordered the roasted beets. They were uninspiring to say the least! To be truthful they tasted like big chunks if boiled beet root... There was no salt or pepper on the table. To make them edible we had to season the dish ourselves with the remaining balsamic and asked for salt. The salt that arrived looked like a small fish of kitchen salt! The soft sliced cheese on too did not make this a combined dish! No response to comments to the waiter. I ordered filled pasta which had a delicious filling of butternut squash, but the pasta was thick and unpleasant where joined. The two lamb shanks were well cooked but came with nothing at all and we had to ask for jus... Accompanied by a separate order or totally undercooked broccoli. I love al dente vegetables... These were neither one if the other! I was the only one to order a dessert... Tiramisu! Awful! Sloppy with an over sweet ' custard' which tasted of raw egg whites and not Mascarpone.. It was clearly some kind of 'deconstructed' desert as it had clearly been out together in the bowl... Tasted neither of coffee or chocolate!.. I didn't eat it!
So a meal for three people where we had three entrees, two entrees and one dessert cost $140! I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone! Over priced food of questionable quality, but superb staff!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You get the quality you are paying for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great home-made pasta and tasty sauces, knowledgeable happy staff, nice decor, and a good drinks list make this place a perfect Italian restaurant. Not the cheapest but you get the quality you are paying for in spades.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow... Me likey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

So... I rate my Italian restaurants on their red sauce, chicken or veal parm or their bolognese. It was a little late, so I wanted to eat a little lighter... I heard the portions here were not too big. I shared a pizza for an appetizer and the bolgnese for the second course. The pasta is all home-made, so I got the wide noodles. The Bolognese was done to perfection. Slow cooked with a cream sauce. The pizza was delicious. A little pricey for the size of the dishes, but good value due to the flavor etc.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jeremy is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The food and service is great! Jeremy the bartender is always a pleasure to see! He's always on top of his game!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 62 Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to 62 Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 62 Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.