We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scratch Kitchen

Scratch Kitchen
245 Derby street, Salem, MA 01970
978-741-2442
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #40 of 213 restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: New restaurant.
Walkersville, Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not happy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We may have picked an off day but the evening we went for dinner was not anything we enjoyed. The clam chowder was very good I had a Vermont cheddar cheese sandwich on sourdough, it was ok but it also cost $6.00 just for the sandwich. They make all their own condiments so the order of French fries came with homemade ketchup- where is the Heinz, did not like that at all. Could have lived with all that but when we asked if the $2.25 ice tea included refills we were told for an extra $1.25. Today, rarely do you pay more for a refill. Service was slow, food was delivered quickly but we waited to long for our check, there were not many people.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    50
    37
    20
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we ended up visiting scratch on our Salem food tour and the experience was amazing. how often does the chef come to your table and tell you about the awesome stuff he prepared for you. The food was fresh and from local vendors which was great if you go the bacon dusted fries are a must and the ham and swiss as simple as it sounds is anything but; this place is a definite stop but pick your time wisely the food is so good they do become packed!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a MUST for pork lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped here on our Salem Food Tour with Karen and were thrilled. This place is locally sourced and a must visit while in Salem. The food is great. We wish we had time to eat there again! Delish

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“limited menu but good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We came in for a snack before they closed. The restaurant is small but cosy and our waiter was very personable and helpful. The menu is limited - very few options, and because we went in right before closing there were even less, but it wasn't too big of a deal. Also if you like bacon this is the place for you - there's bacon in nearly everything on the menu. Our clam chowder was good but very very thin and with large chunks of bacon (more like ham) and potato thrown in. Not the best I've ever had but the overall experience was pretty good and I'd like to come back, maybe for lunch next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“This place is worth it. So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Amazing food! I didn't try any of the seafood, but the burgers, wings, and fries are to die for! Smaller size restaurant so there will most likely be a wait. The beer selection is also very good and compliments the food well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scratch Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scratch Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.