We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“limited menu but good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scratch Kitchen

Scratch Kitchen
245 Derby street, Salem, MA 01970
978-741-2442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 220 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: New restaurant.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“limited menu but good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We came in for a snack before they closed. The restaurant is small but cosy and our waiter was very personable and helpful. The menu is limited - very few options, and because we went in right before closing there were even less, but it wasn't too big of a deal. Also if you like bacon this is the place for you - there's bacon in nearly everything on the menu. Our clam chowder was good but very very thin and with large chunks of bacon (more like ham) and potato thrown in. Not the best I've ever had but the overall experience was pretty good and I'd like to come back, maybe for lunch next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaelalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Maine, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“This place is worth it. So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food! I didn't try any of the seafood, but the burgers, wings, and fries are to die for! Smaller size restaurant so there will most likely be a wait. The beer selection is also very good and compliments the food well!

Helpful?
Thank Mallory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
152 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“They make a mean salad at this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good food! This place is closed on Mondays. The prices are rather steep, but the food & service is good. Serves wine & beer. Centrally located in the old part of Salem, it is easy to find. You can check out their food offerings on their website. Happy eating!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SKSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
544 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Go for the sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Everything here is made from scratch or sorced locally. The food was wonderful and the trip for the onion rings alone was well-worth it. Creative menu and very fair prices and the service is perky and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwatrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home-made taste and bring on the Bacon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I recently had lunch with my son in Slem, Ma. We had passed the Scratch kitchen many times on our travels and decided to stop this time. I am so glad we did! the food was amazing and really good portions were served. Almost everything could be served with a side of bacon. This is no ordinary bacon but instead thick-cut style prepared there at the location. I had a grilled cheese with bacon and my son had a BLT and fries. In addition to an abundance of breakfast/lunch/dinner selections the local beer selection was extensive! There were 100 or more local and exotic brews offered in bottles and the caps were all added to jars throughout the restaurant for added decor! The Scratch Kitchen is both family friendly as well as a place to grab a
beer and snacks with friends!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratch Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Scratch Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing