We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“limited menu but good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scratch Kitchen

Scratch Kitchen
245 Derby street, Salem, MA 01970
978-741-2442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 215 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: New restaurant.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“limited menu but good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We came in for a snack before they closed. The restaurant is small but cosy and our waiter was very personable and helpful. The menu is limited - very few options, and because we went in right before closing there were even less, but it wasn't too big of a deal. Also if you like bacon this is the place for you - there's bacon in nearly everything on the menu. Our clam chowder was good but very very thin and with large chunks of bacon (more like ham) and potato thrown in. Not the best I've ever had but the overall experience was pretty good and I'd like to come back, maybe for lunch next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    49
    23
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“This place is worth it. So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Amazing food! I didn't try any of the seafood, but the burgers, wings, and fries are to die for! Smaller size restaurant so there will most likely be a wait. The beer selection is also very good and compliments the food well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“They make a mean salad at this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good food! This place is closed on Mondays. The prices are rather steep, but the food & service is good. Serves wine & beer. Centrally located in the old part of Salem, it is easy to find. You can check out their food offerings on their website. Happy eating!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Go for the sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Everything here is made from scratch or sorced locally. The food was wonderful and the trip for the onion rings alone was well-worth it. Creative menu and very fair prices and the service is perky and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Home-made taste and bring on the Bacon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I recently had lunch with my son in Slem, Ma. We had passed the Scratch kitchen many times on our travels and decided to stop this time. I am so glad we did! the food was amazing and really good portions were served. Almost everything could be served with a side of bacon. This is no ordinary bacon but instead thick-cut style prepared there at the location. I had a grilled cheese with bacon and my son had a BLT and fries. In addition to an abundance of breakfast/lunch/dinner selections the local beer selection was extensive! There were 100 or more local and exotic brews offered in bottles and the caps were all added to jars throughout the restaurant for added decor! The Scratch Kitchen is both family friendly as well as a place to grab a
beer and snacks with friends!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratch Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Scratch Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scratch Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.