We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They make a mean salad at this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scratch Kitchen

Scratch Kitchen
245 Derby street, Salem, MA 01970
978-741-2442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 217 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: New restaurant.
Ontario
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“They make a mean salad at this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good food! This place is closed on Mondays. The prices are rather steep, but the food & service is good. Serves wine & beer. Centrally located in the old part of Salem, it is easy to find. You can check out their food offerings on their website. Happy eating!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    46
    23
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Go for the sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Everything here is made from scratch or sorced locally. The food was wonderful and the trip for the onion rings alone was well-worth it. Creative menu and very fair prices and the service is perky and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Home-made taste and bring on the Bacon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I recently had lunch with my son in Slem, Ma. We had passed the Scratch kitchen many times on our travels and decided to stop this time. I am so glad we did! the food was amazing and really good portions were served. Almost everything could be served with a side of bacon. This is no ordinary bacon but instead thick-cut style prepared there at the location. I had a grilled cheese with bacon and my son had a BLT and fries. In addition to an abundance of breakfast/lunch/dinner selections the local beer selection was extensive! There were 100 or more local and exotic brews offered in bottles and the caps were all added to jars throughout the restaurant for added decor! The Scratch Kitchen is both family friendly as well as a place to grab a
beer and snacks with friends!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stopped by to get some sandwiches for lunch and got them to go. I had a BLT that was simply wonderful. The bacon was awesome and it was served on toasted homemade bread. While the pesto mayonnaise was good, I prefer regular mayo. My companions had smoked brisket; this is served with a spicy brown mustard; the wait staff asked the boys if they wanted the mustard on the side as some people think it's REALLY spicy, both of them opted to have it made with the mustard on the sandwich. :-) Well, that mustard was AWESOME and they weren't kidding when they said it had some kick. My husband does spicy/hot really well, as does my friend. It was amusing to watch them eat their sandwiches, they loved it, but sometimes they were in a wee bit of pain and the sinuses were definitely cleared. The restaurant looks very inviting, quite casual, but we had plans and couldn't eat in. When we're in Salem again, we'll likely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bacon need I say more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I love bacon, it is truly a wonderful thing. The bacon here is ok but I've had better. The brisket sandwich is good, but mustard overpowers the taste of the brisket. The pulled pork sandwich was good but a little vinegary.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratch Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Scratch Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scratch Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.