We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1692 movie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of CinemaSalem

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
CinemaSalem
One East India Square, Salem, MA 01970
(978) 744-1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 36 Attractions in Salem
Attraction details
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“1692 movie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went to this very small theater specifically to see the movie about the 1692 witch trials in Salem and paid $8 each. Not sure why the producer bothered to film in 3D (other than to charge for 3D) as there were no special 3D effects. The movie itself was well done and insightful, but not worth the $8. The theater was clean, the picture and sound were very good, and the woman at the register was very nice. I could see why locals would want to go and support a small theater like this, but we were simply disappointed in the "value" we received.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Good For a Rainy Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had one very nasty wet day in Salem so we decided to check out the theater. It is a decent enough place and the prices are reasonable. I guess I am spoiled by our theater back home and did not like the seating that much. Old school theater seating.

The next day we did go back to check out the independent movie True 1692 that was made right in Salem. It depicts the witch hysteria and was shot in 3d. It is a short film shown in a small room. We really enjoyed it and it was well made.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Independent Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Terrific location and friendly, informative staff. They show a very interesting mix of big hits, independents and locally produced films. Prices are cheap and it's a fun place for adults and children. Make sure to check out the locally made True Story of 1692, mostly balanced view of the "witch events" done in an entertaining (think funky) and informative way, in 2D and 3D.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A Really Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The theatres are small & comfy! It feels like your in your own living room watching a movie!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

It is a small theatre with just 3 screens but it is a find. They play first run movies but also show some interesting foreign and art house films.
Interesting concession stand too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CinemaSalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CinemaSalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.