We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Sweet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Pepper Companie

Ye Olde Pepper Companie
122 Derby Street, Salem, MA 01970
(978) 745-2744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 Shopping in Salem
Attraction details
Maine
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Quaint and Sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Eyed this on our walk to The House of Seven Gables and put that on the list to stop in on our way back. Not a lot of room, but very well laid out to make the best of the space they have! Lots and lots of homemade chocolates and fudges. A wonderful place to find the "hard to find" older candies like Bulls Eyes (aka: caramel creams), candy cigarettes and, one of my personal favorites - the Atomic Fire Ball!!! Yum. I purchased several of my top favorites as well as a bag of pre-mixed salt water taffy made by this company. I was very happy with all but the taffy - it didn't have much flavor at all and the grape was really awful. I was disappointed but moved on to my other choices. Oh, the maple drops are really, really good. Not the sickening sweetness of maple sugar candy, just sweet enough with lots of maple taste.
Not sure about parking here - mostly street parking? It's definitely worth a visit, and there's usually a candy maker working as well as some great candy machines on display.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Your sweet tooth will thank you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Cute little shop right down the street from Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast and House of the Seven Gables (two other excellent places to check out during a visit). The candy is fantastic! I especially enjoyed the fudge and the chocolate-covered crackers, but everything we had was great. Try the Blackjacks, one of the candies they're known for and one of the oldest recipes in the shop. It's pretty neat that some of the candies you're eating are made as they were more than 200 years ago. Definitely indulge your sweet tooth here while you're in Salem.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good stop for the sweet tooth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice little stop, some interesting candies here. Oldest candy company in America! Lots of canies I've never heard of that were probably popular during Salem's prosperous maritime days.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing candy!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Right across the street from the House of the Seven Gables you will find this national treasure! This is the first and oldest candy company in the country. Had it not been for a tourbus driver, Bob, who happened to have a tour there, we probably would not have tried the Blackjack candy! It is incredible! We bought two packages along with a pound of caramels, choc covered marshmallows and buttercreams! a bit pricey, but when you taste it you understand why. Can't wait to visit again! Or maybe order online! Oprah Winfrey is also a fan of this place!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“delectable yet disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A delectable selection of candies, hand-dipped chocolates, fudge and rare olde-tyme favorites. However, other than a few pieces of candy making equipment and some chocolate moulds, we seem to miss any display(s), tours or story boards of historical significance or interest...which for a foodie at what is supposed to be America's oldest candy store was disappointing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Pepper Companie also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde Pepper Companie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Pepper Companie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.