We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly cooked seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Escape - CLOSED

The Great Escape
50 St. Peter St., Salem, MA 01970
978-745-5022
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bridge Street
Transit: Commuter rail is across the street.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We ate at The Great Escape after a recommendation from Jeff (of Bewitched in Salem) who educated us on the history of the jail. I ordered the pumpkin soup, scallops over risotto, and crème brulee. My friend ordered stuffed salmon and we were very pleased. We had great service and the atmosphere was fun!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    41
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“We Ate Dinner in Jail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our first time at this restaurant and found the service, food & decor wonderful! Food was reasonably priced. Our server was a fountain of knowledge when it came to the history of this restaurant. It used to be the Salem jail up until the Sixties. Now it's a restaurant. We got a chance to wander around the place, and the bar is located down a long hallway off the restaurant. Apparently, it's a must see for all visitors to Salem. All entrees have been given jailhouse/mob theme names...cute! We were seated by the original jail cell bars which was very novel. They had jailhouse "art" adorning the walls of the restaurant as well as a framed shadow box containing mementos of the jail (handcuffs/keys etc.) I liked the place, and would return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The food and service were excellent! The decor of the old jail was intriguing. Ask about the history - no running water even into 1990. Very good value for the price. Best cesar salad and bruschietta I ever ate. Save room for desert!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This restaurant is in an refurbished county jail. Most of the original flooring and walls remain and some jail cell bars making it a little dark. We went on a fall afternoon and there was only one other party eating The service was good. Parking out front was limited to 3 spaces and no handicapped parking. I'm not sure where the other parking was. We arrived via Bridge St.
We all ordered soup and salad. Soup was shrimp bisque which was not chock full of shrimp. The other choice was beef stew which had one potato and 4 pieces of tender stew beef. The stew itself was salty and unremarkable. The salad was Caesar with 2-3 croutons and some grated Parmesan cheese over lettuce. Dressing was unremarkable. We ordered the eggplant for an app and it was delicious. Hot crusty rolls were served as well.
Would I go again? Maybe, but there are so many restaurants in Salem to try it seems unlikely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“I wouldn't want to escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Saturday afternoon and there were a few other couples there. The decor is excellent with some of the original jail cell doors and framed history of the jail. Very unique. The food was good, the service was good but the whole jail atmosphere was excellent. Will definitely go back when we are in Salem again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Escape also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.