We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, noisy ambience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Escape - CLOSED

The Great Escape
50 St. Peter St., Salem, MA 01970
978-745-5022
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bridge Street
Transit: Commuter rail is across the street.
boston
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food, noisy ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Great Escape is in a former prison -- with brick interior walls and a high ceiling. Thus the noise carries. The main courses are excellent. The bar is in a different space -- and much quieter. Free valet parking is a great convenience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    71
    41
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A great new place in the old "haunted" jail. The jail theme isn't overdone and the service was terrific. Great food and a great atmosphere. Recommended!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great atmosphere and history of the building. The food was great, drinks were even better! Great service.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Atmosphere and Service, Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

What attracted my fiance and I to the Great Escape was the idea of dining inside of a prison, and our 10% off coupon we were given while walking on Essex Street in Salem. We arrived at our destination, however, parking was confusing. We didn't know whether to park in the back, or where to park in the front. We called and were instructed to park in the front, where there were only three spaces, and I asked myself, well, where is everyone else going to park? The inside of the restaurant was great. We were sat at a booth which surrounded us with bars, like a prison would have, yet, more elegant. Our server was great, very attentive. My order was incorrect when it came out, and the person who delivered the food to the table was being crabby because the food was not what I wanted. Our server however, quickly fixed my order, and apologized swiftly. I ordered the saffron lobster risotto, which had nothing but three small pieces of lobster. Disappointing. Our calamari was delicious however, and our steak tips were tough, yet good. We also ordered the tiramisu for dessert, and that was also good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“good story to go with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

very clever take on the use of an old jail. great location .good menu Fun place to eat or just have drinks.
Outdoor space was available for seating also

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Escape also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.