We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of World of Witches Museum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
World of Witches Museum
57 Wharf Street, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970
978-584-1569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 70 things to do in Salem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The World of Witches Museum is a different witch museum located in Salem, Massachusetts. This museum is designed and operated by Rev. Don Lewis who has written over 9 books on the subject of witches and witchcraft. This museum takes you through Neanderthal times all the way up to modern day witchcraft and witch trials still going on today. So, if you ever wondered why witches are green, fly on brooms and have pointed hats this museum is for you.
Deerfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This tour is a great means of learning some of the local facts quickly and effectively.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I have visited this place several times while living in Salem., and have occasionally attended some ot the rituals.
From a historical perspective, it is somwhat interesting.
There is a good selection of books and other items.
Ther readers, Terry (Stone Lady) and Therese are ethical and demonstrate sensitivity.
However, I am disppointed in the 3 psychic readings that I received from (Rev) Don Lewis.
One of them was fairly expensive. However, all were very inaccurate.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank celticwoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great People. Well worth the trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is the only place of it's kind in Salem. World of Witches not only has a bit of history but represents what Witch Craft and Wicca are today. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. A great place to visit!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank BBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This one topped out on our list of "bad/ cheap/ tacky places in Salem".

It was completely low budget and gave out erroneous information. The figures were cheap as was the overall atmosphere.

This should be free.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank daytripper88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Eclectic Group of Psychics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

The museum looks at real life witches through out history and is worth a gander. The big draw for me was that there are several psychics with different specialties. Rev Don does past life readings, Therese does palm and tarot readings, Terry read stones, and another uses automatic writing to answer your questions. I've never been to a shop that had so many options in psychic readings. And each reader starts at $20 for a basic reading. I thoroughly enjoyed my readings and will definitely come back again to consult them. The store has some lovely jewelry and magical products. Everyone that works there is super friendly and genuine. A lovely place to get a reading done.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank emilie01010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World of Witches Museum also viewed

 

Been to World of Witches Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#