We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howling Wolf Taqueria

Howling Wolf Taqueria
76 Lafayette St, Salem, MA 01970-7502
978-744-9653
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 182 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New Mexican cuisine
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun place, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I went for dinner on a Saturday night. There was a line, but it moved very quickly and we had a table within 10 minutes. The smoky mexican boneless chicken tenders were delicious. The margaritas were good. The burritos were great and one is enough for two people or lunch the next day. The tacos were very good. It was a very fun place, great wait staff, and delicious food. Very affordable. The table next to us turned over very quickly with families, and a group of young women. We hung out and talked and never felt rushed. Cool t-shirts also.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    40
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Mexican at budget prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Best Mexican around and very reasonable prices. Lots of students from Salem State University so you know the prices must be right. Busy most nights.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a few drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We popped in for lunch on a Sunday to watch the Pats game and had our choice of seats. Very friendly hostess and waitress - not in your face, but always accessible. The free chips and salsa were quite tasty. We both had beef enchiladas, which were very good (SPICY!) - served with rice and beans, which were OK but nothing to write home about.

The restaurant itself was nice - fun bar area, with a more traditional, quieter dining area too. Seats near the front door can be a bit chilly as there is only a thin curtain to block the wind. Sit a little closer to the back wall (or start drinking, I guess... that would warm you up!)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Waiting and waiting and some waiting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lets make something clear I dont mind waiting for a table or to be sittedbut I DO NOT like waiting for service at the bar, we sat down at the bar for Im not exaggerating, for 15 mins, and we didnt even get a hello from not 1 but 2 bartenders !!!! And to top it all off there were 2 other couples that came wayyy after us and the got service after us. So disappointed.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Can't Beat Two Dollar Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was very impressed by everything at the Howling Wolf. From the excellent waiter to the cool decor and the delicious food there was very little that disappointed me. I loved the ambiance, especially the stained glass decorations. The menu was very cool. The descriptions were great, although I did wish they had more detail about how spicy each dish was as I'm a wimp and need food on the blander side. I tried the Horchata and it was ... interesting. My friend ordered the Tuesday special $2 tacos and loved them. I got the cheese enchilada and it was good, and huge. I didn't think the rice was very good. I will mention that they offered us a bowl of tortilla chips and our choice of salsa, cheese or guacamole almost like it was free when they took our drink orders. In fact, we thought it might be free until it came to the table and we realized something that nice had to be an appetizer. It ended up being my favorite part of the meal, but I think they should be upfront about the price/not being a freebie. I would definitely go back, and ate my left over enchilada for lunch today!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howling Wolf Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Howling Wolf Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howling Wolf Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.