We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New England Soup Factory

New England Soup Factory
140 Washington St, Ste 1, Salem, MA 01970-3529
978-744-0444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 214 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

No one makes soup like the New England area. Full off of 8$ of food (the pint size soup). Highly recommend for the poor student's budget

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

On a rainy day this is the place to go. We had soup - of course!! Chicken pot pie soup and chili. There's some very unique soups that you won't find else where. And you can sample before you choose. Chili was spicey good. Chicken pot pie had a little puff pastry. It's not cheap, and it is worth the visit if you like soup, bread and sandwiches! The service was very friendly and helpful. The dining area was clean with ample seating.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Don't get the hype.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I ate here in September 2012 on a business trip. I always look up restaurants on Trip Advisor to find a good spot to eat lunch, and this place came highly recommended... but after visiting, I don't really get why.

The man who helped us was extremely kind and friendly, so that was a good start. The sandwiches all looked delicious and I was under the impression that they were made fresh, but he instead grabbed an already prepared sandwich from the cooler. The fruit salad I had was lacking in both variety and quality, with hard cantaloupe and barely-flavorful pineapple (and two grapes). The soup (chicken noodle with vegetables) was okay, but overall very salty and sub par. The only big plus to my visit was the small chunk of bread served with the soup -- delicious. Even the bathroom disappointed. The toilet clogged immediately (and I only flushed ONE small bunch of toilet paper), and there was no hand soap to be found. Boooo.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“many choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We wanted a later lite dinner and decided a bowl of soup would hit the spot. They have many choices each day and it's easy to find something you would like.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“I could eat here every day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The New England Soup Factory was a Trip Advisor recommendation that I sought out intentionally, and it lived up to the great reviews. The front screen door squeaks charmingly. We had free samples of that day's soups and chose the lobster newburg. It was crazy good. Try a garden salad with it or one of the wraps. I could have eaten here every day!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New England Soup Factory also viewed

 

Been to New England Soup Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New England Soup Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.