We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky restaurant in historic Salem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of In a Pig's Eye

In a Pig's Eye
148 Derby St., Salem, MA 01970
978-741-4436
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 212 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Funky restaurant in historic Salem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Terrific food, funky atmosphere. Local artisans display on the walls. Go across the street for desert at Captain Dusty's.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    39
    17
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachustts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mid week dinner out-not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Thought we would enjoy a mid week dinner out. Arrived at the restaurant at about 6:15 pm. Two people sitting at bar and two tables for 2 occupied. The waitress took our drink order and it took forever for us to be served our drinks. You would have thought the bartender was busy.My husband was served his drink and the the waitress came to take our food order. I told her we would wait to order until I also had my drink. Another 10 minutes later I received my drink. By this time we were annoyed. Got a sauteed seafood app with a portabella mushroom in sauce. Had to ask for a little bread. Because the service was so slow and we elt ignored, we decided not to order dinner but instead just split a sandwich and left. Upon paying receiving our bill, I questioned the waitress who came to our table and said"did I overchage you $10?" Yes she did. We won't return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Gem in the City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We'd been touring the city all day and were ready for a drink and local mingling. Well, we got it at this great little gem of a pub! I almost don't want to tell anyone about it because it is such a cool place! We walked in and saw that it was mostly locals in the bar area. That made us ahppy because that means it's a place well worth being in! We found a table for two, ordered some drinks and then had a great time listening to the Blues Band! The people were friendly - lots of conversations - and the staff were friendlier. We didn't eat (restaurant in the back of the place) so I can't comment on that, but if you're looking for a Happy Hour, this is the place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good bar, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've been here about 6-10 times and usually to hang out and have some beers. The last couple of times we had dinner, most recently with friends. The food was mixed - one lady had baked cod and it was good, my hamburger was so-so (they forgot half of the condiments) but at least it was cooked properly. My GF had shepards pie and it was ground lamb & corn with mashed potatoes flopped on top - not baked, or broiled, just plain old mashed potatoes. The filling was rather bland and not very flavorful. I've had shepards pie before and this was disappointing. The waitress also messed up our drink orders (never put them in), luckily someone else came along and corrected the problem. Our previous dining experiences were similar.

It's quaint and a fun place to hang out. Go for the entertainment and beer, but there's better food elsewhere in Salem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archbald, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“In and out, 1 server with too many tables”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The atmosphere inside the restaurant was really neat; a lot of interesting pictures on the wall. At night, there is live music, but we were there during the day. There were a lot of tables in there and we only saw 1 waitress, so service wasn't the best (but it was not her fault). The food was decent, I think if I had ordered something else I would have liked it better. I wouldn't go out of my way to eat there, but it's not a bad place to go if it's on the way to another destination.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In a Pig's Eye also viewed

 

Been to In a Pig's Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In a Pig's Eye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.