We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halloween & Harleys” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern in the Square

Tavern in the Square
189 Washington St., Salem, MA 01970
978-740-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 182 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
580 reviews 580 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 268 cities Reviews in 268 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Halloween & Harleys”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stopped in here on a Saturday and there happened to be a Harley Rally in Salem and Halloween was just around the corner. All I can saw was this place was loud, people were wasted at lunch time and every now and then a cloud from tire burn outs would blow through the restaurant. Not to much of this is the restaurants fault, but I would say its definitely a Bar that can open the doors and through a party and not a restaurant that happens to serve alcohol. I had the Buffalo Chicken Sandwich and for $11 wasn't all that impressed. It's all in what you are looking for; if that's a bar, then this might be a good place for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    48
    23
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch with a friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Met up with a friend who lives in Salem in September. The day was sunny and warm, so we sat outside on the brick patio in front of the restaurant. Although this restaurant sits on a busy corner in the center of Salem, the shrubs have created a nice oasis away from the traffic, both foot and car. The lunch menu is extensive and they have many beers on tap. We both chose salads, which were made with fresh, crisp lettuce and veggies. I had steak tips which were cooked to request on mine and they were seasoned well. Salem can be a crazy place in the fall with the Halloween holiday but we were able to enjoy a nice meal, not be rushed and not have the cost be too much for a salad and beverage. Service was pleasant and attentive too very important items for me. Nice place and I would go back next time I visit the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Good Food and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Went there with some friends at Salem. Love the food there. very fresh and tasty. The soup is great. I like the clam chowder. The drinks are good too. Only the price is a bit high.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A 20 ish pick up bar.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

If our looking for great food or your over 40 dont bother.
Its a cool bar if our in our 20's or 30's. Sports bar with lots of tv's.
After dark, a totally young college bar.
Locals call it TITS as in Tavern In The Square.
That much, it delivers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went here with to have brunch with my gf. We started off with some awesome bloody Marys and had a a pair of burguers as main dishes. Portions were big. Service was great, we decided to have a pitcher of spiked lemonade to finish off the afternoon (off of their extensive drink menu), and got it in no time! If you're hungry & thitsty, try the place out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern in the Square also viewed

 

Been to Tavern in the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern in the Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.