We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located, but disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stepping Stone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stepping Stone Inn
Save
You added Stepping Stone Inn to your Saves list
19 Washington Square North, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“well located, but disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Very well located and reasonably priced. However room small and "bathroom" doll-house sized. If you weigh over 150 lbs., you will not fit into the bathroom.

Very limited parking

Minimal breakfast (continental.)

Cordial host.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    32
    8
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
57
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

The location and price of the Stepping Stones Inn was good. And the place was relatively clean. Other than that, I wouldn't recommend this inn. There was no charm, no warmth to the inn or the rooms. The bathroom was tiny (and I am only 115 pounds, I'm not a big person!). The breakfast was absolutely skimpy and cheap. There was cold cereal, defrosted frozen berries and the thinnest-cut banana bread I've ever seen. If the inn-keeper got a good decorator, had a better cleaning crew, and had provided a normal-sized breakfast - with FRESH fruit instead of frozen junk - this could be a nice place...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lousy breakfast, no charm
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

LOVED the B & B. Rooms are very clean, the owner is a pleasure to speak with. Had another couple with us that never stayed in a B & B before and they were very impressed. I cannot stress how well John keeps the house clean and comfortable. The location is great, Salem is not a big town, but this B & B is in a good location for walking around. I will recommend the Stepping Stone to any of my friends that decide to take a trip to Salem, and I recommend it to anybody reading this review trying to decide where to stay. Delicious coffee!!!

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — room was a little warm, even with AC, but that probably has nothing to do with the B & B
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Ma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

I stayed at the stepping stone in in May 2007. I found it to be a very enjoyable experience. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable . I found John the innkeeper to be very helpful in providing me with info on things to do. I enjoyed the breakfast
especially the fresh fruit. But the best aspect of all was the location you can literally walk to almost all the attractions in Salem. I think for $115 a night it was well worth it. I liked the
fact that the room gave off an cozy eighteenth century feel.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

Wouldn't stay here again. Let's start with the good aspect -- the place was clean. My husband and I love to stay at B & B's and enjoy our various experiences. But the Stepping Stone Inn was just a place to stay -- not warm and welcoming, not cozy, and overall exuded a spirit of stinginess. The bed, while uncomfortable to relax on for conversation (with no other option in the roomn), turned out to be comfortable enough for sleep. The common sitting room had a very cold aura . . . we sat for a while but nothing in the ambience was welcoming . . . so we retired to our room. The breakfast was fasinating in its austerity; how does one create such thin slices of banana bread. It seemed very strange. Our usual B&B experience entails a sense of warm, generous hospitality. Not here.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford,ct
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2005

We stayed at the Inn durin a very rainy October weekend as an Anniversary trip for my husband and myself as well as my sister and brother in law. The rooms were clean,
the home itself lovely and John, the innkeeper was gracious and very helpful. We were within easy walking
distance of everything. The only problems with this inn were the TINY bathrooms and the breakfasts.
We are not very large people, but found the showers in our rooms so tiny that we kept banging our arms against the shower walls while trying to wash our hair! It wasn't really a problem, because we found the place so nice, but it might be a problem for a larger person or someone who was pregnant. The Inn also has an incredibly stingy breakfast. I know that it states from the beginning that it is a continental breakfast, but when another reviewer
spoke of the bread being so thinly sliced you couldn't even pick it up it was not an exaggeration! Also, if you are thirsty, you'd better be prepared to supply your own
morning beverage, because other than coffee and tea you are offered a glass of oj about the size of a shot glass with no refills!
I would certainly stay here again, because it is lovely, the price is very fair and it is so close to everything, but I hope that this will inform other travelers about it's possible drawbacks.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2005

We stayed at the Inn over labor day. The location could not be better and the house is part of the history of Salem. Our room was immaculate and the host was charming. We enjoyed the area so much we stayed one extra day. It is a very good value

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stepping Stone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stepping Stone Inn

Address: 19 Washington Square North, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having the very best location in Salem, the Stepping Stone Inn boasts six beautiful and newly-renovated guest rooms, each with private bath, iPhone charging alarm clocks, free wifi, free parking, fresh flowers and tasteful decor. We are right next door to the Salem Witch Museum and across the street from the Salem Common and the Hawthorne Hotel. Ditch the car and walk absolutely everywhere! Under brand new ownership, the Stepping Stone Inn warmly invites you to enjoy the spacious parlor and the cozy dining room with free 24-hour gourmet coffee, tea and hot chocolate service, which is the perfect ending to your lovely evening out in charming, historic Salem. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stepping Stone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.