We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hocus Pocus Tours

Hocus Pocus Tours
164 Essex St., Salem, MA 01970
+1 781-248-2031
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 37 Activities in Salem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capture the historic spirit of Salem's yesteryear on this award winning, daily, 90-minute walking tour. Hear stories of intriguing people, discover the truth about Salem's infamous Witch Trial Hysteria, experience the authentic story of Salem's most notorious murder, and find out what locations were used in the movie Hocus Pocus. More than fifteen stops dot the tour route, including Salem's old jail -- a one-time residence for the Boston Strangler, the site of the Old Witch Gaol (prison), the Witch Trial Memorial, the field where Giles Corey was pressed to death, and the cemetery where a Witch Trial magistrate is buried.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Informative Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We loved our tour with Hocus Pocus, it was informative , visual and interactive. The tour was a great mix of talking, humor and story telling to keep you interested and engaged. Easy walk for all ages.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    19
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Islip
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

First let me say we loved Susan. She has a wealth of knowledge about Salem. She makes everyone feel welcome and remembered everyone's name in the group. You won't be disappointed. Pointed out places of interest that you may have otherwise overlooked.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Passionate and knowledgable tour guides - made the tour fun and educational! Highly recommend for a date night, friends night out, or just wanting to learn more about Salem while visiting from out of town!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Tour guides were great! Found out so much history and a taste of ghosts. Authentic tour and not a tourist trap like a lot of the others seemed. My friend was in a wheelchair and they went out of their way to make sure she could access everything and even gave us directions and guided us to our next stop after the tour! Highly recommend them!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Well worth a look!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This tour was amazing! Very interesting information with just the right touch of mystery & ghostly activity without feeling at all like a cheap thrill. Tour guides were great story tellers who were very open to questions. Very intimate feeling (the guides spoke to everyone on a first name basis). What really impressed me was their determination to make everyone feel welcome. I am in a wheelchair & they went out of their way to make sure everything was very accessible & I could see everything. At the end of the night they even helped us to find our way around town. I highly recommend this tour!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hocus Pocus Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hocus Pocus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hocus Pocus Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.