We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Luxury Hotel With Tons of Character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorne Hotel to your Saves list
Hawthorne Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Washington Square West, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Restaurant Voucher!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NYC
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Luxury Hotel With Tons of Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2005

We Love this Hotel!!! We have been going to the Hawthorne for about 5 years now, and it just keep getting Better. The staff is Top Notch, and it has all the comforts and style of a 5-star hotel, and well worth the money. Everything is right outside their front doors, Literally all of spookie Salem is a short walk away.You never need to drive anywhere, for everything is centered right around the Impressive Grand Hotel. The rooms are Spacious and wonderfully decorated, the beds are to die for, you will sleep like a baby. Give this place a try whenever you stop in for a Salem stay, you will Not be Sorry :)

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    321
    78
    27
    38
See reviews for
371
542
78
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twinsburg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2005

An attractive, boutique hotel with outstanding staff! This hotel is right in the heart of everything there is to do in Salem. The Salem Witch museum next door is by far the best museum for a lesson on the witch hysteria of 1692. The lobby, restaurants and rooms are all lavishly decorated however the bathrooms in the sleeping rooms are quite tiny! We were here for a business meeting and were most impressed with the quality of the food and the attentiveness of the staff. Everyone bent over backwards to make sure the stay was enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel. It even allows pets for those travelers who must bring them along.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nb, canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2005

We stayed at the Hawthorne on the 28th of August. I thought it was the perfect hotel for a stay in Salem. It is almost directly across from the Salem Witch museum which was the attraction that I was specifically there to see. The rooms are dated - but that's the point. We had breakfast the next morning in their restaurant (Nathaniel's) and it was very good. Wonderful atmosphere. I would have loved to have had dinner there because their menu was very appealing. My only negative comment was that the walls seemed rather thin as you could very clearly make out conversations in the adjacent rooms. The Hawthorne is in the perfect location to wander Salem's downtown area.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2005

My mother, two sisters, and I stayed at the Hawthorne for two days. The room was clean with lovely furnishings -- and extremely comfortable beds! The other reviewers are right that the bathroom is smaller than at the large chain hotels, but there's absolutely nothing wrong with it. We didn't have any problems with hot water, either. The lobby is beautful. The hotel was quiet. I know one reviewer wrote about roaches -- we never saw one roach or any other bugs.

All the staff in The Tavern were extremely courteous. The evening we dined there, the hostess had to put up with a very obnoxious elderly lady who it seemed was just trying to get a free meal by complaining about everything and she handled her with tact and grace.

The hotel is located right in the center of everything in the historic district so walking to most of the attractions can be done with ease.

Just check the weather if you are planning a trip in May. It was cold and damp and we left the day before a strong Nor'easter hit the area. On the up side, with that type of weather there weren't many tourists so we didn't have any long lines at the attractions and, because of the small crowds, we got to see things better.

Warning: Be very careful when you're driving because there don't seem to be any "rules of the road" -- it's every man for himself!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2005

My wife and I stayed in Salem in early October 2004 (a week before the official Halloween season).

We were pleased with the Hawthorne Hotel for the following reasons:

1) Location - It was within walking distance of all of the Salem attractions. The Witch museums, the Peabody Essex Museum, the shops were all fairly close.

The hotel itself had some interesting historical photos and documents in the lobby, in addition to some unique decorating. I believe these touches captured some of its 1920's charm.

We had no trouble finding a spot in the hotel's adjacent parking lot.

2) The food - I am not a fan of the "typical" New England dishes because I find them somewhat bland. However, our dinner at Nathaniel's was superb. The seafood was fresh, the menu unique, the dishes flavorful and the staff extremely friendly. We were also pleased with our room service choices and our food from the Tavern.

We stayed in an average single room. It was more decorated and older (but not run down) than an average single room in a typical hotel, but nothing special. We stayed in a top-floor room that overlooked the Commons. This gave us a great view and the height provided a buffer from the street noise.

It was worth staying there once, but if we return to Salem, we probably will NOT stay at the Hawthorne again simply because it didn't "wow" us, especially for the $125/night rate.

However, we will definitely return to Nathaniel's.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Square West, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem area. Our 4-room guest house, the Fidelia Bridges Guest House offers travelers a unique experience in an historic property while enjoying all the amenities of the Hawthorne Hotel. All rooms have flat-panel 32inch high-definition televisions, iPhone/pod/MP3 player docking stations, twice the number of "squishable" pillows, duvets, newly renovated bathrooms with granite sink surrounds. Guests receive complimentary bottled water, complimentary coffee and tea 24-hours per day, complimentary use of the local YMCA with two indoor swimming pools, as well as use of our on-site fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.