We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorne Hotel to your Saves list
Hawthorne Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Washington Square West, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Hollywood, California, United States
1 review
“Good stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Loved the Hawthorne, great rooms, perfect location to downtown, fantastic service. Especially in The Tavern, the waitstaff did an extraordinary job aswell as the folks in Nathaniel's. I will return and enjoy my stay once again at this fine establishment! Oh, and the real life wood burning fire place in The Tavern is awesome!

Room Tip: the rooms on the 5th floor are haunted// Ask for Allison, Lisa, or Angie when you go to the Tavern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Herson F:

Thank you for taking the time to respond not only to your accommodations during your recent stay, but the service you received in both the Tavern and our fine dining restaurant Nathaniel’s. I appreciate you recognizing the work of Allison, Lisa, and Angie. Like the entire Hawthorne team, our guests are always their top priority. I will be certain that they receive special recognition for your kind words.

Hopefully we will see you at the Hawthorne Hotel again very soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    309
    78
    26
    36
See reviews for
357
518
75
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been to the Hawthorne Hotel twice and have my third trip planned. The hotel is clean and cozy. The rooms lovely but its the staff that makes it. I was there when Hurricane Sandy hit. I am from NY so I was a scared mess. The people there kept me calm and comfortable and were able to extend my stay an extra day, do to me having no route home. Everyone there kept me calm and comfortable. The food is wonderful and you can walk to any time of shopping you may need. The front desk is helpful with ANY questions. I can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Colleen:

Thank you so very much for the lovely commentary on your trips to the historic Hawthorne Hotel. We sincerely appreciate it when our guests share their perspectives of their stays with other travelers.

We hope all is well back in NY by now, and that you were not adversely affected by Hurricane Sandy. We look forward to welcoming you back yet again, very soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Hawthorne Hotel has two restaurants, Sophia's and the more casual Tavern. I live locally and went with a friend to the Tavern for lunch, we arrived right at noon. The temperature outside was in the teens, so we choose to sit at the table by the fireplace. The atmosphere in this historic hotel on a cold New England Day was perfect. The place was not full when we arrived but there was wait when we left. The food here is always great. This time we tried Steve the Chefs special fish chowder. It was excellent and not to be missed. Large chunks of white fish, and clams, very creamy. Nice selection of salads, sandwiches and hot meals. The menu stays the same lunch or dinner and prices very reasonable. Parking is free in the hotel lot, and it is right downtown within walking distance of stores, historical sites and the Peabody Essex Museum is only a block away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear JCMass:

We love to hear from our local fans! Thank for choosing to respond to your experiences at the Tavern here on our Hawthorne Hotel page. It is such a benefit to future guests of the Hawthorne to have the “seal of approval” from locals on how great our restaurants are.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meal so thoroughly today. I would have to agree with you that on a cold New England afternoon, there is nothing better than a cup of Steve’s Seafood Chowder.

Thank you again for your thoughtful review.We truly appreciate hearing from you and hopefully we will see you again in the Tavern very soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I love the Hawthorne hotel not only it is near everything you want to see and shop but the people are so helpful and nice I go least 3 times a year . I will be back up on April for 2 weeks it like home away from home! !!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Denise D:

Thank you for sharing your past experiences with other guests on Trip Advisor. We cannot thank you enough for your years of continued patronage to our Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you have received consistently excellent service and visit us so frequently. I will be certain to share your thoughtful comments with the entire Hawthorne team.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in April! As it is only a short walk from the Hotel, be sure to check out the Peabody Essex Museum while you’re with us. Their exhibits rotate regularly throughout the year and there are some wonderful exhibits on deck for the rest of 2013.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had the smallest room at the hotel, but it was great. Clean cozy, very comfortable bed. We dined at the hotel restaurant , was not our first time, we enjoy the old world feel of the hotel and restaurant . Food was very good as well as the service, they had live piano music which made for a romantic atmosphere . Check-in was quick, the young lady at the desk was extremely pleasant and helpful. Check out is 11:00 so we booked on line at the Salem Cinema for the 11:30 AM show of Les Miserables. The cinema is located a short distance from the Hotel, parking is free on Sunday, and admission to the 1st run features on Sunday morning is only $6.00. It capped of a great week- end in my favorite city.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, select outside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear GumbaV:

Thank you for writing a wonderful review not only of the Hawthorne, but our friends at Cinema Salem. A walk to the cinema can take no more than two minutes from the Hotel, it is that close to us – in fact it is closer to the hotel than many parking spaces are from the super megaplexes in the malls. CinemaSalem shows a wonderful selection of films that changes regularly, including one independent or foreign film in their cute little screening rom. I am glad you were able to enjoy the theater during your time with us.

Thank you for recognizing our front desk staff for their pleasant demeanor and helpful attitudes. I will be certain to share your thoughtful words not only with the front desk department, but the entire Hawthorne team that keeps the Hotel running daily.

Hopefully we will see you again in Salem very soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Salem is a historic and memorable town. I visited for business this time, 35 years after my first family vacation there. Much has changed, but thank goodness, much has remained the same...especially the Hawthorne Hotel.

Stayed one night...too short. Check-in was efficient at the tiny front desk. The lobby was beautiful and the bar was wonderful, like stepping back in time. While enjoying an ale, we were surrounded by the sounds of a big band. In the Grand Ballroom next door, there was a 30 piece big band practicing. The Ballroom was gorgeous...high ceilings, beautiful chandeliers, creative window treatments, and tons of character. Nice treat.

The room was good...not great. The bathroom was small and dated. Plastic enclosure shower and really old blow dryer. The bed was great, comfortable, great linens, and diverse range of pillows. Room was quiet...got a great nights sleep.

Had breakfast in the dining room and enjoyed one of the best egg white omelettes I've ever had. Great service and comfortable, historic setting.

Last but not least, the hotel is located right in the center of Salem...convenient to the history and sights of this wonderful town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Colin S:

Thank you for writing such a thoughtful review of your stay with us. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time to share their experiences with other Trip Advisor readers.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the band, Special Edition, rehearsing in the Ballroom. They are with us on alternating Monday evenings and we all enjoy hearing them throughout the Tavern and lobby. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed not only your drink in the Tavern, but the surprise entertainment, and also the breakfast in our Nathaniel’s Restaurant.

We are surprised to read your review of the bathroom, as we just renovated all of the bathrooms in the hotel. We will grant the point that we did not replace the hairdryers, which are still functioning well. I am curious if you found your hairdryer to be defective in any way, or did it just seem old in appearance to you? Please feel free to call the hotel and ask for me personally if you care to share more information with me.

It is wonderful to learn that you found your accommodations comfortable and relaxing and were able to enjoy a perfect night’s sleep. Hopefully, we will see you again in Salem soon whether for business or pleasure.

Thank you again for your kind review, and for taking the time to express your opinion of your stay.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

great place to stay, service was outstanding, great food, rooms are beauitful. wife loved their large bath tub, very relaxing and quite, close to all the shops and sites. although they do not have a pool they offer you a free pass to the YMCA to use the pool there. we`ve been there in the pass and will be there in the future

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear tc1918:

Though you kept your review brief, you highlighted so many wonderful aspects of a stay in the Hawthorne Hotel. I am certain future travelers of Salem will benefit from your review, especially since you noted a few of the lesser-known aspects such as the Salem YMCA passes. As a historic building, we do not have the space for a swimming pool, but with the YMCA only a few blocks away guests are able to take a quick warm-up walk and take a swim; the perfect compromise. And they have both a full-sized lap pool, and a warmer “family” pool to accommodate all needs.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service you received while staying at the Hotel. We pride ourselves on our hospitality to our guests and it is always wonderful to hear their feedback. I will be certain to share your thoughtful words with the entire Hawthorne team.

Hopefully we will see you again in Salem and at the Hawthorne very soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Square West, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem area. Our 4-room guest house, the Fidelia Bridges Guest House offers travelers a unique experience in an historic property while enjoying all the amenities of the Hawthorne Hotel. All rooms have flat-panel 32inch high-definition televisions, iPhone/pod/MP3 player docking stations, twice the number of "squishable" pillows, duvets, newly renovated bathrooms with granite sink surrounds. Guests receive complimentary bottled water, complimentary coffee and tea 24-hours per day, complimentary use of the local YMCA with two indoor swimming pools, as well as use of our on-site fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.