We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorne Hotel to your Saves list
Hawthorne Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Washington Square West, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Hinsdale, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My Husband and I took our second honeymoon Aug 31 2012 on the Blue Moon. Everyone at the Hawthorne was very helpful and made our stay wonderful. Our room was so nice, the temperature during the day and night was perfect, we had room service for dinner and breakfast it was amazing, they brought it on a lovely tray and it was so fancy, we were spoiled. We slept wonderfully, it was very quiet, the bed was more comfortable than ours:) The bathroom was small but very well supplied, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, plush towels and very clean as was the room. Everything was in walking distance, the entire Hotel is very luxurious. Plenty of parking too. WE highly recommend a stay here, it is so historical as well, old padded elevators, the lighting creates an old atmosphere..we didn't see any ghosts:( that would have been neat. Our room wasn't supposed to be ready until after 3:30pm I think it was, they had it ready by 11:30 am a lovely surprise. We will definitely be back. They even sent us a gift certificate for a complimentary appetizer in Nathaniel's for our next stay. If you can, treat yourself here you wont regret it!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 523 a lovely quiet floor, a full bed with a desk, tv a lamp on each side of the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Stephanie C:

What a fantastic review! Thank you for highlighting every element of your stay. The photos really add to the post. Thank you for sharing those with everyone on Trip Advisor. We love to learn a guest’s perspective, but to be able to “see” their perspective is wonderful for us. I will be sure to share this with the entire staff at the Hawthorne.

I am happy that you enjoyed all of your accommodations during your stay. The recently renovated bathrooms are on the smaller side, but we do our best to give our guests all the necessary amenities to make themselves at home during their stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to detail your stay with us. Hopefully you will be able to visit Salem again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    309
    78
    26
    36
See reviews for
357
516
75
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hawthorne Hotel is conveniently situated for those that want to enjoy the sights, tastes and sounds of Salem. Once you park your car at the hotel you can walk to many shops, restaurants and local attractions. The hotel has lots of historical charm and an array of rooms to choose from. On this trip we stayed in a suite which was large and very comfortable with gorgeous antique furniture. The bed was extremely comfy. Hotel staff were helpful and professional. We ate at the tavern on-site and loved our meal and the service (Thanks, Irene!). The special pumpkin martini was a delightful autumn treat, and don't miss out on the chocolate roulade for dessert. This hotel offers everything you need for an autumn getaway to this special town in New England.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Elizabethqueen:

Thank you for writing such a well crafted review. I will certainly let the Hawthorne staff know how pleased you were with everything during your stay. Irene will also receive special recognition for her excellent service to you while you dined with us in the Tavern.

The photos you added along side your review were fantastic. You captured everything from the delightful pumpkin martinis, to the Hotel’s glowing, evening exterior with an expert eye. I appreciate you adding those to your post. They will be of assistance to many visitors of Salem, giving a visual and personal account of everything we have to offer here at the Hotel.

We genuinely appreciate it when our guests take the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I hope to see you again in Salem very soon.

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick Township, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We go to Salem every August and have stayed at a bunch of different places but this hotel was hands down the best! Not only is it absolutely beautiful and clean but it is what I think to be very reasonably priced for being RIGHT across the street from Salem Village. Everyone there from the people at the front desk to the housekeeping staff were so very, very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would never stay anywhere else again when I visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated differently in the hotel but I'm sure whatever room you get it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Chris S:

Thank you for writing such a kind review. Receiving such glowing review from a regular traveler to Salem is wonderful.

I am glad you were happy with not only with the comfort and cleanliness of your accommodations, but the service you received while staying with us. The staff works exceptionally hard to meet the needs of all of our guests and your praise is appreciated by the entire team. I will be certain to share your kind words with them.

We look forward to seeing you at the Hotel again next August.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Perfectly situated in the heart of Salem. Lovely hotel. They catered the food for the wedding we
attended at The Essex Museum, the food was outstanding and the service was amazing. The
hotel was warm and inviting and the staff go out of there way to help you. Wonderful places
to eat right at the hotel for your convenience. Lots of wonderful local, shops to visit and many
wonderful local restaurants. You are within minutes of everything including the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear MarjorieMurphy:

You painted a perfect picture of everything we do at the Hotel and exactly how centrally located we are in Salem. Thank you for highlighting this for future Salem travelers.

Experiencing a city like Salem really must be done on foot. I am glad you were able to take in the sights from the waterfront to the many local shops while here for a wedding in Salem.

Thank you for praising not only the Hotel, but the catering we do at the Peabody Essex Museum. It is a unique and beautiful location in which to have an event such as a wedding, and we love being able to play a part there with our cuisine. I will certainly share your compliments with the entire Hawthorne team.

I am pleased that all of the accommodations were comfortable during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at The Hawthorne Hotel many times upon visiting Salem, MA. The rooms are quaint and the service is excellent. The location of the hotel is superb.
The food in the pub, as well as the dining room, was tasty. We especially enjoyed the atmosphere in the Autumn months. However, we also had an enjoyable experience vacationing here in the Summer months.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear mglifort:

We love hearing from our repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this for us, and for potential new visitors to Salem.

It seems you have stayed with us many times at varying points throughout the year. I am pleased to hear that we have lived up to your expectations time and time again.

We are delighted that you were able to try both of our restaurants while you stayed with us on your most recent trip and that everything was well prepared and delicious. Do not forget on your next visit, that should you need a late-night snack after a long day of sight seeing, we are the only Hotel in Salem to offer room service.

Thank you again for such a thoughtful review. We truly appreciate it.

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you ever wanted to be in the best grown up Halloween experience ever this is the place to come ~ the town is charming as great New England town in the fall should be~ The Hawthorne Hotel host the most fabulous Halloween Grand Ball for the pass 30 years ~ a fun traditional grown up Halloween adventure ~ step back in time, dance the night away, wear your favorite costume and let your imagination take flight. Going back for our 2nd year and hopefully many more. The food is great, the service terrific, the ambiance beyond description. A bucket list must do.

Room Tip: you get what you pay for, this is an old hotel with lots of charm, most modern conveniences but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear HBCarroll:

Thank you for such a thoughtful review. The Hotel is putting final touches on our Ball preparations and we are just as excited as you are.

Thank you for appreciating the charm our Hotel has to offer in all aspects. I could not agree more with your statement that we are not a “new” hotel, nor should we be. Thank you for acknowledging us exactly as we are; an elegant, charming building with every modern convenience a guest could want.

We have done some major renovations to our guest rooms since your visit with us last November. All of our guest bathrooms have been updated and we have updated the mattresses and bedding, now with higher thread count sheets, new duvets, and extra pillows.

We will see you soon. Thank you so much for thinking of us.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I grew up in Salem and I have a special place in my heart for the City, and especially the Hawthorne Hotel. All of our families special events, weddings, birthdays, etc. have taken place here. My husbands birthday was the first time we stayed over.. it was so nice. I half expected to see Nathaniel Hawthorne at breakfast!
Any time of year is great but I like Christmas the best. The atmosphere is right out of Charles Dickens! Book early it is a busy time.. you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Saks5th:

Thank you for writing this superb review for the Hotel. I cannot begin tell you how much I loved reading it. Hearing that we have played even a small part in your family’s memories for so many years is absolutely heart warming.

I am glad you were able to finally stay with us for an evening. I am glad we lived up to your expectations after such a long time as a guest here.

Perhaps we will see you at the Hotel this Christmas. Thank you again for such a thoughtful review.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Square West, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem area. Our 4-room guest house, the Fidelia Bridges Guest House offers travelers a unique experience in an historic property while enjoying all the amenities of the Hawthorne Hotel. All rooms have flat-panel 32inch high-definition televisions, iPhone/pod/MP3 player docking stations, twice the number of "squishable" pillows, duvets, newly renovated bathrooms with granite sink surrounds. Guests receive complimentary bottled water, complimentary coffee and tea 24-hours per day, complimentary use of the local YMCA with two indoor swimming pools, as well as use of our on-site fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.