We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawthorne 'Rocks'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorne Hotel to your Saves list
Hawthorne Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Washington Square West, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hawthorne 'Rocks'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Location is the best! Desk staff very accomodating, rooms clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but normal for an older building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear dbpd48124,

While your review might be brief, you certainly encompassed the spirit of the Hawthorne Hotel – great location, terrific staff, and excellence in cleanliness.

Thank you so much for writing this review.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    309
    79
    26
    36
See reviews for
358
515
74
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

When we pulled into Salem, I had a splitting headache. As I walked into the elegant lobby, I saw a big group of people that I thought was waiting to check in. I wanted to curl up into a ball, but quickly learned they weren't in line for reception. Things only got better! I was warmly greeted, and my reservation was promptly processed. While my husband parked and made a couple trips to bring our items in, I settled into our charming, cozy Bishop room (king bed, 158 sq ft) on the 3rd floor. I lay down on the comfortable king with a washcloth over my eyes and soon decided a bath in the newly outfitted bathroom was in order. In less than 30 minutes, I was transformed! While our room was small, it was just delightful and simply perfect! I have attached some photos (excuse the mess).

If I had to focus on one feature that sums up the character and ambiance of the Hawthorne, it would be the glass doorknobs in our room! Don't laugh, but such attention to detail does not go unnoticed. We really appreciated being able to open both the bedroom and bathroom windows as it was on the warm side (a/c was the system in use - note that only heat or air is available at any given time throughout this historic hotel). Even with the street noise, we slept like babies.

We ate in the Tavern one evening (watching our Texas Rangers on the screen) and Nathaniel's for breakfast one morning during our two-night stay. Service in Nathaniel's in particular was exceptional, and the serving size was ample. My husband and I could have shared a plate. I also grabbed a bowl of chowder in the Tavern our last night and had to leave a bill (including a tip that was more than warranted, but I didn't want to wait for change) underneath the bowl in payment...never received a check or acknowledgement after the chowder was delivered, and I was seated at the first table away from the bar. A small complaint, but still noteworthy.

The Hawthorne is well-positioned so that anyone who is able to walk with ease may visit all of the town's main attractions. Once we parked, we did not move the car until the day we left. There is a CVS pharmacy a couple blocks down the Essex pedestrian mall. Note that the Visitor's Bureau is also right down Essex, and would be an excellent place to start.

Room Tip: It appears not all bathrooms have been updated. If this is a tipping point for you, I would highly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear janea54,

Thank you so very, very much for the excellent review. Your taking the time to add photos to your review certainly will help other travelers really be able to envision what they will experience when they come to the Hawthorne Hotel. Your enthusiasm for what we do best here at the hotel – providing excellent hospitality – really shines through, and we are very grateful for your kindness.

Thank you for letting us know about the faux pas in the Tavern. We are looking in to it to be able to better train whoever dropped the ball on your service that night. Even one bowl of chowder deserves proper service!

You will be happy to know that we are finishing renovations of ALL of the bathrooms. We begin the day after Thanksgiving weekend, and plan to be finished by the end of March.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Hawthorne Hotel is a wonderful and elegant gem in the heart of Salem. We were so comfortable from the second we walked through the doors. The front desk staff was so helpful and pleasant and the room was quaint and clean. Our short walk around the hotel was such a treat with all the history. The updated bathroom features are beautiful. With just one small request our room was upgraded with no hassle. I will surely be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Ciociajennifer,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are especially delighted to see how much you enjoyed our staff, the hotel's cleanliness, and our new bathroom features. We consistently receive kudos on the friendliness and responsiveness of our team members, and are delighted to have you recognize that as well.

Your review will certainly be helpful to future travelers. Thanks again for writing.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is a very beautiful hotel right in the heart of the action of Salem. Within walking of all attractions that you'll want to see. The rooms vary from the smallest with king size beds, which is what we had to large suites, that we peeked into. Our room was very nice and met our needs just fine. I thought the bathroom was very nice with updated features and the shower accomodated my full head of hair without difficulty (big issue for me when I travel). My only complaint is that it got very stuffy in the room, we had trouble opening the window, they are very old and the main one was painted shut and hence we just lived like that for most of our stay thinking they were not to be opened. The hotel operates the heat/cool system so you are at their mercy. We finally got the bathroom window open for some fresh air. A fan would have helped the situation. Otherwise great place, would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Slam2u2,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this review. Giving other travelers your perspective of a visit to our hotel is very helpful.

We are really happy you enjoyed the upgraded bathroom. It is nice to hear that we accomplished what we set out to do. We are embarking on the next phase to finish this project, beginning right after Thanksgiving, so by April every room should have a renovated bathroom.

We do wish you had let us know about the problem with the window. We could have certainly fixed it for you. In addition, we do have fans available. I just have to wonder if you asked for one and we were “out” which can occur, or you just didn’t think to ask?

It would be extraordinarily helpful if you did contact me directly about your stay. I’m always interested in finding out more about what situations occur, and how we can do better. Knowing which room number this is would be great!

Thank you again for this review. We do look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

They were accommodating to my old rottweiler dog. They let me park early even though I could not check in until 4pm. They were centrally located in the middle of town. The walls are paper thin as we could hear our neighbors in the rooms to the left and the right of us. Our room was 626, it had 1 & 1/2 baths and three large windows that opened all the way up. There was a nice sized flat screen tv with HD. We had two captains chairs for sitting plus a desk with chair. The hotel was old in the way of wall paper and paint but it goes with the charm of the hotel since it was built in 1925. In the morning before check out they offer free coffee and tea. The only complaint is that Massachusetts ABC law does not allow liquor to be brought into a hotel, so it must be bought on site. Their restaurant is way over priced for beer/drinks.

Room Tip: The bigger the room the better but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have to start off by saying that I am not at all familiar with the Salem area and other hotel choices, so the Hawthorne may be by far and away the best choice. Although magnificent on the outside, the hotel lobby is small and cramped -- but hopefully you are not spending much time there. We did not visit the bar / lounge area or the dining room, so I can't comment on those aspects of the hotel. While small and cramped is somewhat expected in an historic property, not so much for the rooms. To the Hawthorne's credit, this was not a complete surprise -- as the hotel does state that the room is designed for one person or a couple. But given that caveat, there is no way that the Hawthorne can reasonably justify a $200 room charge -- for the smallest room in the hotel that faced the interior spaces and was LOUD -- when said rooms have not seen a can of paint or new wallpaper or a new sink in a very long time. Our room had chipping paint and old carpet and peeling wallpaper. I realze that this is a historic hotel -- and that there may be some limitations on what can / cannot be replaced / refurbished, but historic does not have to mean run down. Seems far more money needs to go into room renovations. I've never paid so much for a hotel room and been SO disappointed.

Room Tip: Try and get a refurbished room with a view of the Salem green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear COSTransplant,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While we are happy you enjoyed our central location, it is distressing to see that you were so disappointed with your guest room.

While we are in the process of continuing renovations to our hotel, we have no record of this complaint during the timeframe you stayed with us.

We encourage any guest who is not satisfied with their stay to speak with a member of our management team so that we may find mutual resolution. If you would like to provide us a chance to speak with you, it would be most appreciated if you would contact me directly at the hotel.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We loved the feeling of history and luxury that the Hawthorne provided. We had three couples in one room with two queen beds and a pull out sofa, and we had plenty of room. As you would expect the sleeper sofa is not the most comfortable of beds but it got us thru. The bathroom was very small but the only real problem with the bathroom was the tub did not drain while taking a shower. We ended up standing in water up to our calves by the time our showers were done. However that was a small price to pay to be able to walk to everything we wanted see.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Tammy E,

We are so happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us! Room 418 is one of our most popular rooms due to its size, and because of its great corner view of historic Salem and Salem Common.

We apologize for any inconvenience brought on by the slow draining in your bathtub. We have instituted a new procedure for our room cleaning team which will more readily determine if this situation exists in a room. That way we can proactively snake the drain before the next guest checks in.

Unfortunately no procedure is foolproof in stopping someone on another floor from letting something go down a drain which should not, resulting sometimes in a clogged drain. We do wish you had let us know that was the case, as we would have certainly addressed the situation straight away.

Thank you again for your kind review. We hope you visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Square West, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem area. Our 4-room guest house, the Fidelia Bridges Guest House offers travelers a unique experience in an historic property while enjoying all the amenities of the Hawthorne Hotel. All rooms have flat-panel 32inch high-definition televisions, iPhone/pod/MP3 player docking stations, twice the number of "squishable" pillows, duvets, newly renovated bathrooms with granite sink surrounds. Guests receive complimentary bottled water, complimentary coffee and tea 24-hours per day, complimentary use of the local YMCA with two indoor swimming pools, as well as use of our on-site fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.