We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth Sailin'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner FAME of Salem

Schooner FAME of Salem
80 Wharf Street, Salem, MA 01970
978-729-7600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 37 Activities in Salem
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: FAME is a full-scale replica of a privateer schooner from the War of 1812. Launched in 2003, our new FAME cruises on Salem Sound, where pirates & privateers have been making history for 400 years. FAME sails from Memorial Day through Halloween from Pickering Wharf Marina in downtown Salem. A great trip for aspiring sea dogs of all ages!
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Smooth Sailin'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great way to spend an early afternoon. The schooner is large enough to feel stable but small enough that you don't feel lost in a crowd. The captain is very personable and knowledgeable. We particularly enjoyed the story of the building of the FAME. There is the opportunity to help with the sails and the small cannon on board is actually fired. We could have easily spent and entire day - the 2 hours just "sailed" by!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gloucester Schooner Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The weather had been bleak leading up to the Schooner Fest Weekend with showers, downpours with lightning and fog so we didn't know how this would turn out as the forecast was more of the same. We were warned via e-mail Sat. the fog might be a problem...not that we couldn't navigate but that we might not be able to see much and would be given refunds if it was canceled. Sunday we went over to Salem (Fame's Port) and Mike (Captain & Owner) declared the conditions the best we could expect (2 mile visiability and not raining). The wind was almost calm so we motored up to Gloucester entered the harbor and at that point there was enough wind to sail. As we arrived the 22 schooners large & small began departing their moorings for the parade. I have to say it was an amazing scene with the schooners crisscrossing the harbor to check each other out, passengers & crew alike snapping many photos. We fired the cannon several times to salute the visiting and local schooners then dropped in line for the spectators of the parade along Stacy Boulevard, Firing the cannon again in front of the Fisherman Statue (Mike calls it the annual drive-by shooting). With the schooners heading out for the races we looped around the bigger ones for more views & pix.
All & all a great time, great crew, food by Mike's wife Melissa hit the spot especially her molasses cookies....Highly Recommended

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful way to spend the afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Beautiful boat, fun and interesting history lesson along the way from the crew. My son got to help hoist the sails and steer the boat. The crew was interested in who we were and were engaging the entire time. It felt like we were out for 20 minutes and not almost 2 hours!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great sailing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Gorgeous boat, beautiful harbor and knowledgeable crew! A must-experience if you are in Salem and want a taste of maritime history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful sailing !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A weekday is best because it isn't crowded. Did the 4pm sail and the sailors and guides were wonderful. They let us "help" put up and take down the sails. Fantastic opportunity. Even the kids were able to do some steering. Calm and Relaxing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner FAME of Salem also viewed

 

Been to Schooner FAME of Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner FAME of Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.