We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ansel Adams exhibit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peabody Essex Museum

Peabody Essex Museum
East India Square, 161 Essex Street, Salem, MA 01970
866-745-1876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 attractions in Salem
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums, Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Experience art and culture from New England and around the world at one of the region’s largest art museums. Explore the museum’s vast collections and changing exhibitions, ranging from modern art to photography to Asian art and culture. The museum campus features numerous parks, period gardens, and 24 historic properties, including Yin Yu Tang, the only example of Chinese vernacular architecture on display in the United States.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ansel Adams exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Went to see the Ansel Adams exhibit which was 2 large rooms chalk full of his pictures! I will definitely be visiting again - I'd like to see their Hat exhibit which is going on now.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    122
    28
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“small but excellent museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

located across from a parking garage for ease, it is also part of one of the most unusual towns in this country. The exhibits are well selected, and the museum is right in the middle of it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Museum , but crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We enjoyed this museum , but it was a little too crowded and you had to pay extra to go to the China house exhibit. I will say that the maritime display was probably my favorite. They did a nice job with that. Not a bad place to see, but not my favorite museum.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful & unusual exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This museum is a gem on the North Shore. The Chinese house alone is worth a trip. I have been several times over the past 5 years and have never been disappointed. Salem's architecture is a wonderful mix of fascinating period homes and several are part of the museum and can be toured. Don't miss these if you love architecture!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“For me, it's always a must see stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The only thing better than a visit would be to live in Salem and become a member volunteer. Sometimes I Foget it is not open Mondays and that is dissapointing

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peabody Essex Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peabody Essex Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Peabody Essex Museum to your Saves list