We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Custom House

The Custom House
178 Derby Street, Salem, MA 01970
978-740-1650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 42 attractions in Salem
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This U.S. Custom House is a historic building within Salem Maritime National Historic Site, the National Park in Salem. The building is open by tour only.
Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is part of the Freedom boat tour. We enjoyed the whole tour. Andrew was our guide and he seemed to really enjoy sharing his knowledge with us.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsville, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tour by the National Park Personel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After going to the Friendship tour we stayed around and toured the custom house and other tours in the area.
Worth going!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected, and FREE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

One of the few attractions that don't charge as it is operated by the Nat'l Park Service. The park guide was very knowledgable of the I story, and the tour included the Friendship schooner. Well worth the time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great time and free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a must do attraction. Sign up at the Visitor Centre and choose which tour you want to go on - providing there is space. The Ranger meets you there and takes you on board the replica of the Friendship - it shows you what life would have been like for the sailors and how it is used today, manned by volunteers who not only sail the ship but help restore her.
Then back to the Custom House, which is great for all. Gives you a real insight to how Customs worked and what part Nathaniel Hawthorne played in its history. The whole tour took over an hour and was excellent

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here! This is the most spectacular places I've ever been. Five star all the way in every area. I will return.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Custom House also viewed

 

Been to The Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Custom House to your Saves list