We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting momument” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salem Witch Trials Memorial

Salem Witch Trials Memorial
Charter St., Salem, MA 01970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 36 Attractions in Salem
Type: Parks, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Each of this park's 20 stone benches represents a person executed in the infamous 1692 witch trials.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“interesting momument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stumbled upon this Interesting monument to an horrific event in Salems History. Much is given to the scapegoating of one woman during this turbulant time. Lessons we can still learn today!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    130
    53
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“If you know the story, it is a great place to reflect on.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The memorial gives a visual image of empty benches representing those who died as a result of the "witch hunts" of 1692. We visited at night on a guided walking tour. A great way to end the day after learning the history.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“American history comes to life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very interesting for adults and brighter teens interested in history It's worth a stop to contemplate how difficult life was for those long ago ancestors and to reflect on the hysteria to which these innocent people were subjected. Men also were victims.

The reason this is not more publicized is that it is free and no one is profiting from it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“memorial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

it was smaller than I expected but still just as nice and it was conveniently located next to the Old Burying Cemetery. Like, literally right next to it, it shared a wall.

Its nice that they made that memorial for those who were unjustly hung because of the "witch hysteria" I guess its the least they could do.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Salem Witch Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I think it was only fitting that this memorial was placed close to the cemetery where there are so many unmarked grave. I was glad to see the honor paid to these women that were tortured and died here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salem Witch Trials Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salem Witch Trials Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.