We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Witch Dungeon Museum

Witch Dungeon Museum
16 Lynde Street, Salem, MA 01970
978-741-3570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 36 Attractions in Salem
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: After a trial reenactment, visitors tour the recreated dungeon where the condemned witches were sent.
chesterton, IN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

If you can only do one museum, I'd do this one. They did a little bit of the trials and then they took us downstairs to the dungeons, which I thought was very interesting. Jail then is not like jail now. Our tour guide was great but I did not get her name. Sorry.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    82
    61
    42
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corning
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

It was awesome! We took our 2yr old daughter and she was just as enticed as we were. We had a great time and everyone that works there was friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very interesting! Was not aware this had gone on in my own country.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We came upon Salem Mass. On our trip back to Boston from Bar Harbor. We had time before our flight took off so it fit right in our plans. It was so interesting for kids and adults both! I even ordered a childrens book from amazon that explained the hanging of the witches by the Puritans and the reasons why. I think Stephen King May live there or a city near there. Stop in here!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticonderoga, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Must check this one out. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Fascination performance of an actual witch trail from the transcripts. The posters on the walls outline the chronological events of the witch trials which are a must read! The dungeon is shocking! You won't really understand what the accused endured unless you check this place out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What you expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Starts out with a neat little play/re-enactment of a true witch trial that took place. Staff were nice, very into the re-enactment, fun to watch.

Walk through the dimly lit basement (dungeon) to see the actual size of cells in the Witch Trial days. Lots of old mannequins.

All in all, worth the few dollars we spent.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Witch Dungeon Museum also viewed

 

Been to Witch Dungeon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witch Dungeon Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.