We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Witch Dungeon Museum

Witch Dungeon Museum
16 Lynde Street, Salem, MA 01970
978-741-3570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 56 things to do in Salem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: After a trial reenactment, visitors tour the recreated dungeon where the condemned witches were sent.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A must do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place performs an excerpt from the actual witch trial in Salem. The actors do an amazing job and it is really very informative of how crazy these trials actually were. They encourage photography. After the show you are invited to tour a replica of the original Salem dungeons. There in their dungeon is the only remaining piece of the original dungeon, a beam that it is said that if the women rub it they will have good luck.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    90
    63
    42
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Somewhat worth it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The stage re-enactment was wonderful and the actors were great, I wish it was longer. The dungeon tour though was anti-climactic. It's worth it if you get it as a package deal with another of the museums.

Also the witch accusation certificates that they offer in the gift shop are great, we got several for our friends.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewEngland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A lesson with a touch of horror”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great place to learn about the history of the Witch Trials but it's a bit gory and graphic for younger children. This was a field trip location when I was much younger and I've been back since and had the same thought. It tells an important story about part of our history, but it's a bit sensationalistic. There are other locations that give a less tabloid style view of the same story, but if you've got kids or are an adult who really need to have a loud and in your face experience to learn, this is it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good place, not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The day I went to Salem I went to 2 museums, and this one was definitely the least enjoyable of the two. The mock-trial at the beginning just felt kind of awkward. I understood what they were trying to do, but it didnt have to be acted out for everyone. The wax figurines down in the dungeon were pretty cool and creepy though, it was definitely a fun place to do in October. It was only about an $8 admission fee, and I don't regret doing it, but if you are short on time or only want to go to one or two places in Salem, this one can probably be skipped.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a nice surprise . They do a nice reenactment of a trial while giving you a great picture of the atmosphere at that time. Then you go down to the dungeons with a guide. Ours was extremely knowledgable and gave a true picture of life for these poor people. We were there first thing in the morning and the show went on with just a handful of us. This was one of the better museums as it gave you a tour and lots of information and a nice show.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Witch Dungeon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witch Dungeon Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.