We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“groupon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Creek Winery & Grille - CLOSED

Indian Creek Winery & Grille
120 North Washington St., Saint Croix Falls, WI 54024-9243
715-483-2829
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“groupon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I bought a winetasting on Groupon for a friend and we headed to St. Croix Falls for a great afternoon. What a lovely little town! The Groupon deal was supposedly a $58 value. What a joke! We were each served three thimbles of wine and given a tiny cheese plate with six (no exaggeration!) crackers. The cheese plate was not even served in an appetizing way on the plate. The cook could use a lesson or tow about presentation. If we had paid full price for a full glass of wine each and an appetizer, it would have been comparable to the Groupon price, and no where near the supposed $58 value. I was so embarassed, I decided to buy dinner for my friend. The porkchops were the best either of us had ever eaten, but again the plate was not presented in an appetizing way, the vegetables and potatoes were both cold and nearly invisible because the portions were so small. I would recommend visiting St. Croix Falls, but consider another restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    3
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice Place with good food and wine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a nice restaurant and wine bar. They have very good food and the menu changes. They use local produce and meets. My Only complaint is their wine is overpriced.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wine prices jacked up”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We visited last summer and last fall, 2012.

Our first trip we didn't mind the wine prices, but later bought a couple Groupons to return with friends- and guess what?! EVERY bottle of wine had been jacked up $4-$6 each ! Grouponers beware!
Twice they were out of the menu items we had wanted-poor waittress- at least she cared- found out the owners were sitting two tables away from us and they didn't bother with even a word. Classy.

We ordered a few bottles that were out of stock, and after 2 weeks decided to call and see why we were never contacted to pick them up and were told they had sold it and needed to re-order AGAIN!! And at the new 'jacked' prices- WOW!!

They only hurt themselves by this arrogant behavior. Not very buisnesslike, makes you wonder why the orchard was sold off, right?

There are plenty other places to go sample wine and local cuisine.

Don't bother stopping at this one!

Terrible buisness ethic.

Could have probably gone to the dive bar right next door and actually had food and drinks listed on their menu!

Oh, before I end, one trip there, we were booted outside because a larger group showed up! And yes, we had reservations ahead of time.

Wouldn't have gone back, but had the Groupons and thought it couldn't be that bad a third time, right??

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pay more Attention to Your Guests Please...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

These people better call Restaurant Impssible, because they're on life support. It is not a winery, & is barely a restaurant. Several of the items on their menu were not available. It took over 10 minutes just to get someone to bring water & drink orders. We received salads promptly, but it then took an additional HOUR to receive our dinner orders. The food would have bern mediocre if served warm or the spaetzel was not burned. (How do you burn spaetzel, by the way?) No apologies, nothing comped, & we weren't even checked on in the meantime with an ETA on our dinner. I feel so bad leaving a review this negative, but only hope it will inspire the owners to instill some change, or save prospective patrons from wasting their time. :(

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centuria, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“worst restaurant experience any of have ever seen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Never have any of us been treated so badly, rudely, and inappropriately in a restaurant or any other public or private place. It was so bad, that it borders on comical. We had one hour from arrival to departure based upon an afternoon theater reservation, and made it known. Waitress argued about a groupon voucher to start with, 2 of the 4 items we wanted were not avalaible, very small salads arrived with quite a bit of water on the plate, toasted bread sat in the water, but we said nothing about it, oh well. After a 45 minute wait, our food came out leaving us with 6 minutes to eat, less time if you figure in paying the bill. Two of us ate about 3 bites, two of us refused the food. The waitress yelled at us and then the chef came out of the kitchen and was down right abusive. Unbelievable! I have never been treated like this by some one I have never met in my 57 years, seriously! We were told to NEVER step foot in their establishment ever again. Okay, no problem with that. Oh, you might want to bring your coffee with you, because it isn't offered again after the first cup. The play at the Festival Theater made the day wonderful, despite the ridiculously awful start at the Winery and Grill. Shame on them . . .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Creek Winery & Grille also viewed

 
Saint Croix Falls, WI
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Creek Winery & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.