We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Afternoon Lunch/Dinner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nimbus American Bistro - CLOSED

Nimbus American Bistro
6464 East Tanque Verde Road, Tucson, AZ 85715
(520) 733-1111
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pima/Wilmot
California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quiet Afternoon Lunch/Dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Sweet Potato Fries are wonderful! I had chicken avocado pizza (took home half) and my husband had the Cubano sandwich-both were very good. And, of course the beer was good. Not too busy around 3 in the afternoon, so had great service. Understand they have a pretty good happy hour going, but we were a little too early to take advantage of it. Next time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We usually go for local breweries and decided to try this one. The plates were large (we took home probably half). We ordered 2 appetizers and 2 entrees. We tried several of their beers and were pleased with all of them.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Drink, don't eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were thirsty and hungry after hiking to Fort Bowie. Nimbus satisfied the thirst, but not the hunger. The brews on offer are top notch, although I was surprised, given the current trend, that no really hoppy IPA was available on tap.

The food was typical pub grub, but I mistakenly ordered a "16 ounce porterhouse" which the server enthusiastically declared could be "made as rare as you want it". I ended up with a decidedly not 16 ounce steak cooked medium at best. Observing that a 3/8 inch thick piece of beef could not be done rare, I returned it and opted for the New York strip which the waiter said was thicker. I gave up and ate the medium strip when it came. My wife had the mussels, which were drenched in a tomato sauce. Not much spicing, but the mussels aren't over cooked, she reported. The kicker: I was charged for the porterhouse ($6 more than the strip)

Bottom line, an okay pub, but a far cry from a bistro.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, cool atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited Nimbus with a large family group over the holidays. The service was great, the drinks and appetizers came out in a good amount of time and the meals met and exceeded expectations. Loved the skinny cosmo, love the spinach dip and the salads and sandwiches were perfect.

Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“good food, good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had a Groupon Coupon so trecked way to the East side (we live way west). Pizza and beer. Great combo. Had 2 small (7") pizza's. Were great. Crust was superb. Had a couple of the Nimbus beers. Good, but have had better. Overall, very nice. Waiter was right on with service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nimbus American Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nimbus American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.