We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was Good Enough but Decor Depressing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lani's Luau

Lani's Luau
2532 S Harrison Rd, Tucson, AZ 85748-8137
520-886-5828
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #467 of 1,690 Restaurants in Tucson
Restaurant details
Tucson
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food was Good Enough but Decor Depressing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Food was okay but nothing really special. Owners are super nice and we really wanted to like the food and service for that reason. You can feel the love they have for this place but it's just not enough. Would love to see HGTV get a hold of this place, Restaurants Impossible could do wonders to help them succeed. Decor is a mismatch of outdoor plastic mismatched furniture and the Hawaiian theme is amiss here. Very odd - shirts hanging up across a window looks like a laundry clothes line.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oh so "ONO" Hawaiian word for delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Been going here since mid 2012. We try to go at least once a week, sometimes with family and/or with friends, all love the food and the hospitality from the owners.
Best place for plate lunches like in Hawaii here in Tucson. Has everything you find at a plate lunch eatery and at luau (including poi). Prices are very reasonable - specials starting at $5.00.
I feel full and satisfied that I've eaten healthier than going to McDonald's. The owners are absolutely wonderful, a smile an a "Aloha" when you walk in the door and a "Mahalo" when you walk out. Yes, I know everyone has there own opinion but, don't judge a book by its cover, go and try it for yourself. If you ever been to Hawaii, plate lunch eateries are very simple, simple foods with lots of "Aloha".

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not Impressed by Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We decided to order take out from here to try something different as we had heard rave reviews, so we got about 5 different plates to share. It was not awful, but certainly far from impressive. The food was greasy, the flavors were boring, the cuts of meat and fish were cheap and the portions were unimpressive in size. Now granted this was take out, but we certainly won't be going back. I was hoping for something with a lot of flavor and fresh zing, but this didn't have it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best Hawaiian food in Tucson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The food is very good. I've eaten numerous selections from the menu and have really liked everything. The prices are the most reasonable in Tucson. The amount of food they give you was more than plenty. The atmosphere was like being in a local place in Hawaii. The owners are wonderful people. They always make you feel welcome. I've been going there for several years. I try to go at least once a week. Sometimes, I even go twice. Everyone I have taken there loves it!! Friends and family from out of town always want to go there when they come to Tucson. Don't judge a book by the cover. What's inside is wonderful. Once you go there, you'll want to go back again and again. ONO-licious!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I've been here several times in the last few months and really enjoy it. I can't comment on most of the main dishes because there isn't too much vegetarian, but my partner really enjoys the food. I always get malasadas and the potato mac is REALLY good! They also have the Hawaiian juices that are really hard to find elsewhere. This place is worth checking out!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lani's Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lani's Luau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.