We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so pretty...but the food is great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alejandro's Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alejandro's Cafe
31 N Scott Ave, Tucson, AZ 85701-1510 (El Presidio)
520-623-3277
Improve this listing
Ranked #957 of 1,696 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: El Presidio
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: El Presidio
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not so pretty...but the food is great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

OMG! It has been a long time since I've been to Alejandro's. I worked in downtown Tucson in the Public Works Building. (I'm now retired) Some of my co-workers and I would go there for lunch. It was always crowded. The line would be out the door, but service was fast. Sometimes we would place an order by phone and someone from the office would be the runner and pickup breakfast burritos for us. (shhh...don't tell the boss) The burritos were spicy and so good. I liked the beans...creamy and flavorful. The place isn't much to look at, but the food was always good and very reasonable. You order at the counter and pray to find a table or do take-out. The menu is great and they didn't play music at ear-splitting decibels like another place downtown. Hint, hint...see my other reviews. I really liked this restaurant. Keep an open mind about the décor because the food is very good. Give it a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“No clue why this place is well reviewed or so busy at lunch.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

No clue why this place is so packed at lunch or why it has so many positive reviews. You order at the counter and then try to find a table- I got a dirty look for sitting by myself at a four person table, but there are few two person ones and they were occupied. No atmosphere whatsoever. The salsa is a thin, watery bland paste instead of a true salsa, and the ground beef tacos are bland as well. Tucson has dozens of great Mexican restaurants, several within walking distance of this one. So walk on by Alejandro's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Burros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a small little shop in downtown Tucson but has a great menu! They offer lunch items but we always order the breakfast burros for work. They deliver too so it is nice to not have to leave the office. We usually get the bacon egg and cheese but the daily special burros are good too. Great fresh Mexican food and locally owned.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Affordable Mexican food in the central Tucson area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A basic level restaurant, decor is nothing fancy but you enjoy good food, good portions, prices very reasonable. You order at the counter and they bring it to the table. Clearly frequented by locals, a good sign. Excellent if you want a quick meal or if you are watching your budget. If you just want a dependable meal and aren't hoping for a night out, I would pick this place over other nicer restaurants in the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Downtown Niche' with good food, very reasonable $.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Alejandros is like moms home cooking, mexicano style (and mom is a darned good cook). Don't look for a pile of shredded lettuce or a crushed ice pyramid. This is mealtime fare, no frills, good hearty mexican food at reasonable prices. Crowded at lunch time? Yes it is, by common sense customers looking for a filling lunch of good food.
When I visit a resturant I look for a crowd. I also look to see the matrix of the crowd matches the genre of the resturant. Trust me, I found just what I look for at Alejandros. As much as the food I enjoy the staff, all pleasant, though busy, folks.
The carry out business here is amazing, I'm sure it exceeds the sit down customers. Order anything on the menu, be sure to look for the specials and order these if the restaurant is busy. Comida Correda doesn't exist in USA, too bad as it is a great idea at lunch time.
When downtown and hungry stop at Alejandros on Scott St. for breakfast or lunch and order any menu item or special. You will have a good hearty meal at very reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alejandro's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Alejandro's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alejandro's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.