We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful ... this place is addictive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frost Gelato

Frost Gelato
7131 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704
(520) 797-0188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Ice Cream in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Late Night
Tucson
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Be careful ... this place is addictive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A great stop-by experience either after dinner elsewhere (even at home), or after the theatre. The gelato selections are endless (or so it seems) and beautifully presented. We've stopped at both the store on Oracle and the one in La Encantada and experienced prompt (as long as the sometimes long line keeps moving) and friendly service. The line can sometimes back-up if someone decides to sample a half dozen or more flavors before making a decision ... but that's not the servers fault. I've heard the owners are thinking of expanding outside of Tucson ... I wish them well as they have a quality product.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    64
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Yummy, many choices, gorgeous diplays of gelato. No wonder it is on the top ten lists of places to eat in Tucson.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Frost Gelato is a gem! Always a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If there's a heaven, it's got to have a Frost Gelato.

My wife and I live in Marana at some distance from the three Frost Gelatos in Tucson. We visit the shop in Casas Adobes more often, but we've already been to the La Encantada location twice.

I'm delighted that Frost's is currently listed by Trip Advisor as the top restaurant in Tucson. It's well deserved.

The shops are clean. The service is excellent and the gelato is absolutely outstanding. There is a very wide range of flavors available and the staff is more than willing to let you have a taste of something you are considering having.

We always get three flavors (yes, it's that good!). Although a few of the flavors we tried have disappointed--and everyone will have their favorite flavor (or two or three or four or more!)--that's OK. The truly great flavors will certainly win you over and make it a must to return again and again and again!

You may remember that TV commercial phrase from years ago, "Try it, you'll like it!"

Well, at Frost's, a more accurate description would be "Try it, you'll absolutely love it!"

Just below is a rating system that includes a rating for "special occasions." I hadn't thought of it in this way, but truly every occasion is a special occasion at Frost's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Finally the real deal in the USA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I grew up in Argentina which like Italy has an Ice cream parlour on every block (well almost). It is all "home made" and delicious. Frost is such a place. I couldn't believe my taste buds. And I live just up the road, lucky me!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Like the Gelato in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

After coming back from Italy, I can tell that Frost Gelato serves true Italian Gelato. There are so many creative flavors to try and they all taste amazing. This is one of the top ice cream places in Tucson.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frost Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Frost Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frost Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.