We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to Be Wonderful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon View Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dragon View Restaurant
400 N Bonita Ave, Tucson, AZ 85745-2747
520-623-9855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,025 of 1,701 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Tucson
1 review
“Used to Be Wonderful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I used to really enjoy Dragon View (particularly the buffet). But the service has really become disappointing. Used to be a favorite -- but now I would only go there reluctantly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laveen, Az.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The 2 hospitality free drinks and the menu appetizer are great. I only had two platters but they were great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills,ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Ask for the authentic chinese menu if you are adventurous. The regular menu is wonderful,soups are delicious,egg foo young excellent,moo shus ,etc,etc.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Family favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This restaurant is a family favorite and where we always to go for traditional Chinese banquets for anniversaries, funeral banquets or any special occasion. The banquets always have to have an odd number of dishes for good luck (usually 7, sometimes 9 if you really want to pig out). The owner will work with you on the menu but our favorites are usually things like Mongolian lettuce wraps, Westlake soup (eggdrop with beef and cilantro), salt chicken, walnut shrimp, steamed fish with bok choy, BBQ pork, tomato beef, etc. The sizes of the platters are quite large and we always take home lots of leftovers. The service is excellent - plenty of very attentive wait staff who are very courteous and knowledgable. There is a room that can be partitioned off for your group. My parents belong to the Chinese seniors group that meets one Saturday each month and they only go to Dragon View - that is a good testimony to the quality and authenticity when you see a huge group of the Tucson Chinese community eating here. We've never tried the buffet so can't comment on the quality of that but I think people should try things off the menu and be a little adventurous anyway. Skip the boring sweet and sour and try a whole steamed fish!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's virtue is the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I was initially surprised by the good reviews I later saw on TripAdvisor having been taken here by friends who live on the East side--and being totally unimpressed.

But if you start with the fact that Tucson has terrible Chinese restaurants (all shades except Indian) then this one is ok. There is nothing authentic about the regular menu--it's the average Chinese American fare. But the prices are low and the quantities large--and the service is quick and friendly. I have a suspicion that many of the rave reviews are based on that because there are better (if not good) Chinese restaurants in Tucson.

The food is mediocre; the only reason to eat here is that you can't go to other parts of the country on a regular basis to eat decent Chinese food. Most of the veggies are canned or frozen and tend toward being over-cooked. Almost everything needs soy sauce or salt. Except surprisingly the hot and sour soup which I found surprisingly good (no tomatoes in mine as another reviewer complained).

Although this is by far not the favorite restaurant of my Chinese or Chinese-American students I have heard that when they do eat here the Chinese community in Tucson order off the special menu. So maybe you should ask for that and their help in navigating the entrees (this wouldn't be the only Chinese restaurant around the non-Asian world to have two really different menus).

Finally the restaurant is really really dirty. I usually cut ethnic restaurants some slack but everything is greasy and stained--the carpet looks like ti should be in a germ lab. The pictures on the walls are smeared with grease.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon View Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dragon View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon View Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.