We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BLANCO

BLANCO
2905 E Skyline Dr, #246, Tucson, AZ 85718
(520) 232-1007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 1,579 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Irvine, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I love love the tacos. And everything else I've ever had. There is something so wonderful about sitting on the deck looking at the mountains. Highly recommend the chipotle shrimp and the fish tacos as well as the guacamole. One of my favorite places in Tucson. Yes it's a little pricey and gets loud when crowded, but worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    90
    33
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views but Noisy and Medicore Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you can come early, the best way to experience Blanco is happy hour for half priced appetizers and drinks. Otherwise, the food is pretty mediocre, the room noisy, and the lack of adequate rest rooms can make the experience painful. The views of Tucson are spectacular and service is always excellent, so happy hour for the half priced drinks and appetizers but after happy hour, I don't think so...the portions are small and expensive with nothing exceptional about the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Overrated and a chain restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Based on the prior reviews we found the food and drinks underwhelming. We had margaritas, chips/salsa and fish tacos. We didn't go for happy hours so we paid full price for everything.

The margaritas were ok a bit weak and served in glasses with lots of ice. The chips (not served warm) and salsa (bland) were less than ordinary. The fish tacos were really small.

It seemed like Blancos was more concerned with being hip (decor, young waitstaff dressed in long sleeve white button down shirts and designer jeans) than serving good food and drink.

The atmosphere is very nice but we will never be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fresh ingredients, great views, excellent Margarita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you want a fresh twist on fatty cheese covered Mexican food, check out Blanco. Love this place. Great happy hour too!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Apps Make a Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Took friends there for drinks and apps and no one could eat any more after that.
We are fans of happy hours and theirs is great--half price on all apps, margaritas, and MEXICAN beer. The ones we had were large guacamole (exc), beef nachos (v good), ceviche (exc), chicken quesadilla (exc), and chicken taquito (v good). Margaritas were good but with too much salt on the rim.
Choice of outdoor patio seating with a great view of Tucson or modern inside seating.
Excellent service, low prices, good food, and a fun environment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BLANCO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BLANCO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.