We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin La Paloma - and with all this, warm weather and no snow!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwood, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Westin La Paloma - and with all this, warm weather and no snow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Great place to get away for business and for recreation with everything needed for a successful conference, welcoming staff, a wide variety of restaurants and cafes for a light breakfast to a quiet meeting area. At the resort there is exceptional golf, make your tee-times before arriving, and for the more rugged outdoor types, your just behind the resorts is Sabino Canyon. At the canyon there are well marked hiking trails and a demanding 7-mile paved running-walking road.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for posting about your conference at La Paloma. You said it all, we offer so many options whether you are here for business or pleasure. Lots of sun and no snow! We look forward to having you return for both.
Sincerely,
Alicia Wiley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    355
    152
    100
    36
See reviews for
400
395
83
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel in Tucson on business and although its OK, its not as good as other Westins I've stayed in (the Atlanta one springs immediately to mind). Firsly, it is utterly vast which in itself is just one of those things, until you come to move your luggage around and to finding your room.
I went down to the lobby the first evening and the bar scene looked very smart. Unfortunately I wasn't because I'd arrived in scruffs so I didn't go in but it looked lovely. Sometimes a girl just needs to wash her hair.
The room (I paid for a mountain view - if you are there on business I'd say just don't bother, you probably aren't going to see it) was OK - it was clean and large, but you know, there was just NO character. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean but I don't know, it just needed updating, it was not welcoming.
Didn't see too much of any staff mostly because the lobby was too far from the room, parking is a bit of a way from accommodation which may be an issue with children, single women, disabled or elderly people.
I had one breakfast there, it was just fine, but somehow the place failed to sparkle for me and I'd like to see some money spent before I returned and spent more of mine; not a place I'd want to linger.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for you posting. I ‘m sorry to read that you did not find your stay at La Paloma memorable. As a resort we hope to make every guest’s stay special and we did not create this feeling for you. I hope you will have a chance to return and spend some relaxation time by the pool or at the Red Door Spa.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Great Trip, very professional hotel for a convention and FRIENDLY STAFF.
Dawn Glass the senior reservations coordinator went ABOVE and BEYOND to accomdate my team. She is a true professional in the hospitatlity industry.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for posting about our Friendly Staff which includes Dawn Glass. She always goes above and beyond for each and every guest.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Couunty
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

The team at the Westin La Paloma are an absolute joy to work with. My company had several members of our team, as well as several of our clients, staying at the property for a recent event. Dawn Glass, our onsite reservations point person, went above and beyond to make sure my client's requests and expectations were not only met, but surpassed. I look forward to staying at the property in the near future and working with the supportive staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for your posting. We all look forward to having you return with your team and your clients.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

This is my second stay here at The Westin. The first was in August for 2 weeks. Now I'm back 6 months later and everyone still remembered me. Great service starts from the minute I step to the reception desk. Daniel Figueroa has been my host both times. Danny sets the benchmark for professionalism and costomer service. I find this very important since I travel often and there are a lot of hotels/resorts to choose from. I could stay at any number of newer resorts in the Tucson area. Although the TV in the room is dated and not HD, Westin makes up for it by hiring quality employees like Danny who make you feel like family during your stay. Aside from the employees the restraunts pools, golf and tennis are all first class.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for your posting about both of your stays at La Paloma. Exciting news – We are in the process of replacing all of our tv’s in the guest rooms with 42” flat screens. We look forward to your 3rd stay and let us know how you enjoy the new flat screens. Danny will be here to check you in.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

The Westin's staff is 100% accommodating, from the front desk to the room service. They went out of their way to make my short trip as comfortable as possible, and were always attentive. The rooms and restaurants at the hotel are great - there is simply no better hotel in Tucson than the Westin La Paloma.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for posting about our accommodating associates. We look forward to having you return to Tucson and La Paloma. We hope you will have time to stay longer with us on your next visit.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

This was my second stay at this so-called resort. Shame on me. I believe that we will part ways as host and guest. My recent stay (at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa) was disturbing in the lack of customer service. I checked in late at night wearing a cervical collar due to recent spinal fusion. The night desk manager told me that "someone" would be down to the parking lot to help with my baggage than promptly disappeared. The rooms are seperated from the lobby and parking by quite some distance. After waiting 20 minutes in the parking lot, and observing other guest dragging their own bags off to their own rooms, it was obvious to me that navigation in the dark carrying my laptop and garment bag was my only option. Thanks for helping me strain my neck and back. Additionally, the next day it was obvious that care of the "resort" is a low priority based on the trash and empty beer cans and bottles strewn around the grounds and stairwells of the room-blocks. The room itself was dated and the some of the furniture was broken. Return to a "resort" that disrespects guest and displays a cavalier attitude towards guests' safety is not an option.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billp82, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for posting about your stay. We are fully committed to continuous improvement and definitely appreciate every suggestion from our guests.
I deeply regret that we fell short of your expectation of world-class quality, something that our guests have come to expect of Westin Hotels & Resorts.
As this is not indicative of our usual service we provide to guests, we hope you will return and let our staff show you the quality of service you expect and deserve.
Sincerely,
William Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson’s iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $30 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort’s renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177’ Sidewinder water-slide; Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; Westin WORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and six exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.