We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to perfect...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So close to perfect...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is our second stay at the beautiful Westin La Paloma. The grounds and scenery are a stunningly beautiful desert oasis. Our last stay rated a 9.75 out of 10. This stay rated about an 8.5, and this is why: we checked in on a Monday, around noon, so there was nobody in line to check in. The front desk agent addressed me with a sharp politeness, in a hurried sort of way. She asked if we'd like to participate in the Green program where you get $5 coupons for each day you decline housekeeping service. She said it changed from the last time we had stayed, did not explain how it changed, and handed me 5 coupons. Last time, we could opt in or opt out, daily, which was nice because if you wanted housekeeping one day, you didn't get a coupon. I didn't realize during checkin that by accepting the program this time would be giving up any hint of housekeeping. So this visit, I felt like we had to beg for clean towels, coffee refills, to have the trash emptied, etc. Basics! So, fellows travelers, I recommend not participating in this program, which is a shame because it was so well done on our prior visit!!! Note to front desk: please take your time with the guests, to answer questions, and don't rush them out the door....especially if there's nobody in line.
We spend lots of time at the pool, and the pools are excellent (I'd recommend that they get skimmed more often, however.) The pool staff works very hard to make sure guests are happy.
The food is good and reasonably priced, and there are many awesome restaurants nearby. The concierge (who was very helpful!!) has a list of local favorites.
We'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Second floor, mountain view! Ask valets where to park based on where your room is. They were very he...
See more room tips
Green Features: Green program is lovely on paper, but read my comments about this. I feel like the service went out the window because of changes they've made to this program. Westin, please consider changing it back!
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and your feedback.. Your observations have provided an insight as to where our associates will benefit from renewed training. Please let us know your housekeeping requests as we would be happy to personalize and provide the services you desire. I look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next visit and I’m confident you will be ready to rate us a 10. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    336
    147
    96
    35
See reviews for
388
379
79
624
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a lovely spot. Rooms very comfortable, service extremely responsive. Love that you can get a golf cart driver to take you to your room anytime, and they were always very friendly and cheerful. The food was absolutely amazing and delicious (Tomato Basil Soup was wonderful and there was couscous (or maybe quinoa) salad with fruit that was divine). I am Gluten Free and never had any problem getting delicious food. They even gave me a lovely goblet of fresh berries for dessert because I could not eat the cake.

The amenities for our Conference (Arizona Grand Chapter of the Order of the Eastern Star) were clean and well ordered and everything seemed to work out very well.

The one problem we had was that the Restaurant staff and kitchen staff seemed to be a bit flummoxed by the large number of people that needed to eat in a very short window of time. One evening two of us could not get dinner at the Restaurant in time before the next event was to start, so we ended up eating appetizers in the Lounge which also took quite awhile to get, which were nonetheless delectable. I know of at least one (and probably more) lady who was unable to get both her lunch OR her dinner one day! Poor gal!

But overall, a very luxurious and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing. I’m delighted to read you enjoyed our gluten free culinary selections and wish we had delivered in a timely fashion on all occasions. I hope you may return to Tucson and La Paloma in the near future for a few days of rest and renewal, leaving work behind. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Highs:
Lovely views, large lobby, and excellent food.

Lows:
Overcrowded on holiday weekend, "don't-want-to-be-here" attitude from staff, and not as family friendly as expected.

Details:
The entire campus is sprawling, with many different views. We went on 4th of July weekend - bad choice. Due to ensuring only paying guests access the pool areas, the place is on lockdown and it is tough to access the pool. The clientele seemed a bit trashier than I expected, profanity and drunkenness at pool area, loud and/or rude people walking around the grounds, parents letting kids run wild, etc. The staff seemed begrudging to have to work over the holiday. We said that we believe this would rate 5 stars if we had come on any other weekend. The rooms were excellent.

Room Tip: The golf course rooms have nice views. Be aware that some of the non-view rooms actually have no vi...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel offers your choice of a voucher or points if you choose not to get housekeeping.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and candid observations about your stay. The security measures you describe are intended to optimize the experience for our many holiday guests while maintaining a balance with hospitable service. Your impressions of your service are well received, and it is always important to ensure our associates working on special days feel the appreciation and excitement of their leadership team for their contribution. I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon. Our Summer Beach Party Weekends continue through Labor Day! Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona de Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Have been staying here for about 6 or 7 years now as it is a favorite summer staycation for our family. Have tried all the local resorts that offer summer rates and have a water slide - this is our favorite of them all.

Remodel is finally complete since our last stay. Grounds have been freshened up with new plantings & removal of the dead that the frost killed a few years ago. Fresh exterior paint brightened up the buildings. Brickwork replaced a lot of the pool decking & all new furniture in the pool area. The fabric chosen for the new loungers sadly has not held up as nicely as I am sure they thought it would. They are new but the fabric looks stained - perhaps from sunscreen.

We loved the old rooms but understand that change happens. The well maintained rooms have been replaced with trendy furnishings that, like the pool loungers, may look dated quite quickly. We recently stayed in a rather cheap hotel in Phoenix a few months ago...the room is EXACTLY the same down to the "wood-like" flooring in the entrance & chrome sink rack in bathroom.

I noticed complaints about the bottom floor rooms - those are what we request. This trip did have a family with a small child above us and they allowed him/her to run & jump well into the night. Other than that, we like the access the patio gives us to the walkways right out the sliding door. Have never stayed in an upper room but we live here so we aren't missing any "views" of mountains ;-)

Previously we would have the Sunday Brunch but the price was crazy high. Don't know if they still offer it as we opted not to do it this year. The little sandwich shop over by the tennis courts is a nice treat as are the smoothies we like to get poolside.

We love the value we feel we are getting when we do the summer geared-towards-kids rate. The grounds are beautiful, views from main building balconies are stunning, multiple pools & a great water slide, super friendly staff, late check-out & clean, nice sized rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I’m pleased to read we’re your favorite in Tucson and thank you for your continued loyalty. As our frequent guests you noticed many areas of our rejuvenation and I thank you for sharing. We’re ready to welcome you back for your next summer staycation or perhaps a weekend this fall! Play well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The accommodations were very nice. The hotel room was pleasant and clean, and was a good size. I really appreciated that I could fit my toddler's pack n play into the closet area so that he couldn't see the rest of the room after we put him to bed; very helpful! Loved the bathrobe and the access to more amenities than normal (you can request anything from a diaper genie to coloring books). We spent time at the pools every day, which made my toddler very happy! It was nice to have separate pools for separate purposes, so my son could enjoy the kiddie pool without disturbing the adults who wanted quiet relaxation. The pools had a limited number of noodles you could check out, but I really wished that they could have stocked a few arm floaties or lifevests too. The view from the lobby area was spectacular!

We opted not to use housekeeping. The hotel promises a $5 food voucher for each day you don't use housekeeping (other than the day of check out) which we expected. We didn't receive any such vouchers until we pointed it out to the front desk when we were leaving.

When we first arrived, a person in a golf cart zipped up next to us and loaded up all of our luggage and took us to our room. That was a life saver!

This hotel advertises itself as dog-friendly, and there were in fact three dogs in the hotel room next to ours...but fortunately, we couldn't hear any of them from inside our room!

The one thing that was a little frustrating was the mini fridge. Its possible I just didn't know how to use it properly, but it would click off every 12 to 24 hours or so and I would have to reset it to cold. That was kind of scary because we had antibiotics for our son (his foot got infected from a splinter) that we needed to keep cold. Also, it would have been nice to have some vending machines on the hotel property, but there were none to be found. My husband wasn't terribly impressed with the catered meal he had at his conference either. The portions were very small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing. I hope you reported the refrigerator control and I apologize for the concern this caused. Please join us again soon for another family vacation. Soon your son will be ready for splashing and flying down the waterslide! Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at the La Paloma resort for a week and day in and day out service, the rooms, the premises, and the food were just excellent. We were particularly impressed with Peter Mnatzaganian who treated us nicely every time we interacted with him. He was friendly and knowledgeable and perfectly displayed the overall sense the hotel portrays on its guests.

The pools were clean and not overcrowded, and the staff at both the AZUL and the bar were really friendly. The food was simply delicious.

I would recommend this hotel for both pleasure and business. You'll have a great time!

Green Features: The hotel offers a $5 coupon to be spent for anything on the premises for any day that guests refuse room cleaning.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Peter and I thank you for sharing. We hope we may welcome you back soon for another week to relax and renew by our pools. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. The pool is wonderful for families. The staff does an excellent job entertaining the kids with pool. However...

When making reservations request an upper level room. The rooms on the bottom floor are extremely noisy with people walking from the rooms above. It sounds like elephants walking overhead. The refrigerator and air conditioner are also noisy. The breakfast buffet was mediocre, very weak for such a beautiful large resort. Small selection. Food is not good and it is $$
Fyi - Valet parking is 20.00/day.

Room Tip: Avoid bottom floor!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Beautiful desert landscaping Environmentally friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for having been our guest at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. I am so pleased that your family enjoyed our pool activities! Making memorable weekends for families has been a key priority for our summer programming. The issues that you reported with the refrigerator and air conditioning unit indicate maintenance is required on these systems. I have asked our Housekeeping team to increase their awareness of noise in the rooms that our Engineers can address before guests arrive to allow better enjoyment of the rooms overall. There is still lots of warm weather left! I hope you will be able to return while our summer beach parties continue through Labor Day. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson’s iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $30 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort’s renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177’ Sidewinder water-slide; Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; Westin WORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and six exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.