We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
OKC
1 review
“Great for a conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great experience having the conference at the Westin La Paloma. Peter M. in banquets was wonderful as was all the staff for our event. The hotel was lovely. This was my first time in Tucson but we would definitely have an event in the city and at the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your first conference at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. Our tenured staff takes great pride in providing personalized, professional service. I do hope you will return to Tucson and La Paloma whether for business or pleasure in the very near future. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,045
    303
    137
    90
    34
See reviews for
361
355
79
593
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My recent trip to Tucson was to celebrate my birthday and my sister organized the arrangements with the hotel, several times stating that she wanted a room with a mountain view. Upon arriving to our room after dark, we stepped-out onto the balcony to a view of Tucson lights and traffic noise. When we asked the bellhop where the mountain view was, he said, "Out there", which required us to crane our necks around the left side of the balcony to a partial view of a mountain. The morning light revealed some brush and a parking lot below which contained several idling construction vehicles and bulldozers at 5:30 a.m. We could not converse on the balcony due to the level of noise from the lot, delivery trucks arriving along the resort driveway and the traffic of the main road that runs beside the property. We requested a room change and the front desk personnel graciously relocated us to the golf course side of the resort. MUCH better. There was still some traffic noise, but greatly reduced and we had the beautiful mountain view we were expecting to see. Regarding the service and personnel, EVERYONE we interacted with was pleasant and helpful and a surprise bottle of champagne with a cheese and fruit platter was delivered to our room for my birthday. We had more than one service at the Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa and again, the entire staff we interacted with were very pleasant and professional. Very clean spa and hotel rooms. If we get back to Tucson, we would be likely to stay at La Paloma again. Just be aware that the resort is located among a residential and business area; it is not a separate entity with wonderful mountain views from every vantage point on the property, as it appears on the website.

Room Tip: Golf course-side rooms are quieter and have beautiful mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are pleased that you selected the Westin La Paloma to celebrate your birthday, and that you enjoyed the service at our facilities, and your birthday fruit & cheese platter! I would like to personally thank you for allowing us the opportunity to make your experience with us exactly as you had envisioned – and for giving us such a glowing 4 star review after the fact. We know that our guests have certain expectations when they arrive, and it is our goal to exceed their expectations. We are truly grateful that you requested a room transfer, as we know it made a difference in your overall stay. We look forward to your return visit. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently had a convention at the Westin La Paloma, and it was absolutely perfect. Joey Bradfield coordinated our convention, and she was just fantastic. The entire convention staff could not have made us feel any more welcome. The property is beautiful, the rooms are elegant and understated, and the food was exceptional.
On a personal note, our housekeeper, Juanita, was so nice and helpful and our suite was always in tip top shape.
I would highly recommend a stay here for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: We stayed in Master Suite 531 and the room and view are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
It is extremely satisfying to know that we helped to make your stay rejuvenating and you were so happy with the experience. Thank you for sharing your comments, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place is one of the best resorts I have ever been to. The pool is amazing, they have a walk up pool bar. The resort is on a golf course and is very good size so its a excellent area to take a walk in the evenings. The food was amazing. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our pool oasis, and Sabino's swim up bar. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were in town with a group of friends for the weekend and were simply blown away by the beauty, tranquility and extremely high level of service at the Westin La Paloma. The new pool area out back, recently renovated according to Rob Malone at the front office (who really went out of his way to help situate our group and make sure we were taken care of), is simply stunning. I felt like a kid again as I went from pool to jacuzzi, to water slide, to the ice cold simulated waterfall pool, and back. The food at the Aqua restaurant was off the chart, and big thanks to F&B manager Tara Portillo for taking such good care of us. Groups can be a pain, but these guys welcomed us with open arms. I live in Scottsdale, and the Westin La Paloma has jumped to the top of my list for Arizona staycation destinations after this amazing weekend.

Room Tip: The rooms are all situated in outbuildings grouped around the main lodge. We stayed on the north si...
See more room tips
Green Features: The resort grounds were impeccable. The rooms all contained reminders to save water and recycle.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us that you enjoyed your stay -- it's especially nice to hear that we were able to help you feel like a kid again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is hands down one of my all time favorite places to stay. Westin has their act together and no how to treat a guest, how to lay out a room, how to make your stay the most comfortable.
First off, when you check in, they take all your bags put them in a golf cart, then follow you to the parking lot( if you self park), pick you up and take you to your room. We got a room that overlooked the Golf Course.
The rooms are huge. They have wooded sliding doors, but you barely have to touch them for them to open and close. The bathroom has a tub as well as a separate walk-in shower, which is nice because I am 6'4" and find taking showers in bathtubs is not very easy. The showers have a rain shower head. Also have a detachable wand for getting into those nooks and crannies.
The grounds are immaculate. When we were there they were redoing the main swimming pool. But they had other pools to use, including the one at the country club.
The lobby area have really nice and comfy chairs and couches.
The restaurant is very nice too. I explained to them my dad was a vegan. The chef came out and basically asked my dad what he liked and didn't like. He made him this Grilled Tofu salad. I had a seafood pasta that was excellent.
The pool bar serves up nice cool drinks that hit the spot on a hot Tucson day.
I would totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Golf Course view. You can see lots of wildlife when sitting outside on your deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comment with us! We truly appreciate hearing back from our guests and future guests will enjoy your tip as well! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

William Acre was absolutely amazing. William was not only attentive, but was considerate to the needs of everyone at the table. We were in William's table for the evening on Monday as well as at lunch on Tuesday. He was helpful, polite, but most importantly he made us all smile and insured we were enjoying ourselves

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing how William not only provided professional service, but a personable, memorable luncheon for you and your dining companions. I look forward to seeing you return with business associates, friends and family for more enjoyable moments at La Paloma. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson’s iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $30 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort’s renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177’ Sidewinder water-slide; Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; Westin WORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and six exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.