We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but service was poor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but service was poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I are early 30's and have done a fair amount of traveling. We traveled to Tucson for a wedding. There were approx. 30 travelers in our group.
The grounds and rooms of this hotel are lovely and we paid a very reasonable price for the beauty this hotel brings. Rooms were reasonably priced, but food and drinks, although delicious, were pricey.
The bride and groom told me they went through 4 different coordinators during their planning process (something to know if you are considering a wedding here). This ultimately leads to things not being communicated. At one time their group reservation was lost and they were told the hotel was full and couldn't accommodate them. Eventually that was worked out. Once there, the physical location of their ceremony was recorded incorrectly, which they didn't find out until they were shuttled to their rehearsal. That forced them to scramble around the day before their wedding to correct and work out the details. (The current coordinator was very accommodating and sympathetic). After the wedding the shuttle came to get the guests, while the bride and groom took photos. However, the shuttle never came back for the newlyweds!!! After some time they called the front desk and was told a shuttle would be there in 5 minutes, which showed up 20 minutes later causing them to miss all but 10 minutes of their cocktail hour reserved on a separate patio. In addition, the bride and groom paid for the guests to have dinner in the restaurant as part of their reception and the table they were at was the THIRD table (of 4) to get their dinner entree. The bride and groom WERE NOT served first!!! What!?!? All the guests couldn't believe that happened.
Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Service was fairly slow which didn't bother me, but most of the service staff was cold, unfriendly, snippy, and I felt to be a bother when I (rarely) asked for something.
I want to love this hotel as it is beautiful, but the service is lacking.

Room Tip: Grounds are huge. If you want to be near the pool/lobby/etc..., be sure to request a room nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall visit to our resort. Our team worked very closely with the bride and groom for the wedding and while challenges did occur, the couple expressed their joy and complete satisfaction with the weekend. The outcome was excellent and we’re delighted to have another happy couple to invite for future anniversaries. I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our resort very soon! Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    336
    147
    96
    35
See reviews for
388
379
79
624
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Perfect get away. Pools, drinks, food atmosphere. Everyone very helpful and friendly. We were in Building D. Great location for access to the pool and lobby, and restaurants. Rooms were reasonably priced. Drinks and food make up for that, somewhat pricey.

Room Tip: Building D facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing how you enjoyed The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. As a perfect getaway I trust I will see you relaxing around the pool this fall, followed with a beverage around the fire pits in the cool evenings. Stay well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with some family over Labor Day weekend to relax and hang by the pool. The hotel was great, clean, and very friendly staff. My father in law has a bad knee and the hotel was great about giving him golf cart rides around the hotel whenever we needed it.

We ate dinner at Azul. The food was very good, albeit kinda pricey for the portion sizes. We ordered some off the menu cocktails, a sazerac, and the bartender was obviously thrown for a loop- they were not very good at all. Our service was really, really bad, but I think our waitress was new, and very young- so we cut her some slack.

We ordered some late night room service and Patrick took great care of us, even threw in some extra treats to surprise us.

Overall, was a great stay at a beautiful hotel and we look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Labor Day weekend family stay. We certainly appreciate your understanding and in a short time our new employees become just as efficient as all you encountered around the resort. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next excursion to Tucson and The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Our first time visit. We loved it. The location is central, very clean room, pleasant staff. The swimming pool was very clean. Close to La Encantada Mall and restaurants. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing you first time visit at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. I look forward to reading your next review for your second visit and trust you will enjoy even more. Be Well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed at this resort several times and the only thing better than the food was the service.
Westins in general give very good service. The people at THIS Westin really know how to treat a customer. They are just wonderful people that honestly will pamper you.

The first time I stayed with them it was on business and was paid for by my employer. My next two stays were at my expense and it was money WELL spent. All three times I had special requests which were handled quickly and pleasantly.

There are several restaurants and each one of them has a wide range of delicious choices. I probably have had over 25 meals at their restaurants without ANY disappointments.

Our most recent visit was in early spring of 2013 and it was beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Westins and sharing that we are at the top of list for VALUE, SERVICE and DINING. As you have not visited for a few months I hope you will bring your family back to Tucson this fall or winter to enjoy warm days at the pool. Stay Well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a lovely 'girl friends' labor day weekend at this resort. This was an active weekend with lot's of activities outside of the hotel property as opposed to a 'stay in' weekend. The Westin was excellent for this and probably the best value in town for a room and access to facilities and restaurants. Our 'small' room was extremely spacious and very clean.

Pool, spa, fitness facilities are outstanding. I really enjoyed taking a Zumba class. Pool alert, perhaps the great room value had attracted a large family crowd over the Labor Day weekend, so solo and 'friends' adult travellers may consider timing of booking if they intend to spend extensive quiet time by the pool.

Location of this property is great. Very close to excellent restaurants and Tucson's Gallery Row. We found out Tucson is very spread out. Probably not a factor if one plans to spend most of their time in the hotel but quite a factor is you plan to spend time hiking, eating out, checking out the area etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Sampert, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing why you enjoyed the Holiday weekend with friends. As you mentioned we have plenty of activities along with 5 pools and the water slide are a favorite with families. I look forward to inviting you back on your next visit to Tucson. The pools are very inviting with warm, sunny days during the cold winter season. Be well, Glenn Sampert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here over Labor Day. The staff was very accommodating. As stated in other reviews the hotel property is rather large and was quite challenging for someone with mobility issues even with the golf carts to shuttle you around. We had to call engineering to our room three times for different issues (a/c leaking, TV not working and shower not draining). I complained at check-out the next day and got a mumbled "sorry". There was some noise issues such as the typical hotel slamming doors all night and I think a herd of elephants were in the room above us

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops_Mgr85, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments about our associates and cleanliness of the resort. Multiple maintenance issues should never occur in any guest room and I regret this had a negative impact on your enjoyment of the resort. I sincerely hope you will return soon for a more typically flawless and restorative stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson’s iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $30 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort’s renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177’ Sidewinder water-slide; Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; Westin WORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and six exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.