We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #13 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My son and I wanted a get-a-away to play in the pool and the water slide so we stayed on a Sunday night. It had been years since I had been there so I did not remember my way around. No problem, the employees that I asked for assistance were so friendly. The room was beautiful - once we saw the special shower head in the bathroom we knew we had made a great choice. Every employee we came across was friendly and really seemed to like their job. The water slide had no waiting, the pool was not overly crowded, and the wait staff were ready with any food or drink orders. My son called our visit "a little piece of paradise" and requested that we make this our yearly destination. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our newly refreshed pool area and waterslide and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to "paradise" in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    435
    179
    108
    45
See reviews for
495
469
94
757
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 22 Jun 13 for a one night stay. I called the hotel that morning and was told 3pm check in. We arrived at 2:30, and was told check in was at 4pm. H509 ( king size room ) was facing mountain and our rate was 159.00 a night plus 20.00 resort fee, in addition to tax.. total was 200.00. Check out was 1pm ( late checkout no charge ) .
No vending machines on property. All food and drink must be purchased at the hotel unless you bring snacks/drinks from local grocery store.
I contacted the manager the morning of our check out to inform him of a missing cover on one of the jets in the adult pool. Earlier, as i walked towards the steps by the edge of the pool, this valve pulled me to the wall and I thought I was bit by something. After realizing what happened, I notivied the manager and he said his maintenance staff would look into it. I suggested they do it immediately since there were girls with long hair also in the area unaware of the faulty valve.
Carpets were extremely dirty.. Socks were black after a few minutes of walking around and changing clothes.
Wooden type floor in the room..planks were uneven and a trip hazzard.
Nice patio with a nice night view of the mountain and city lights. Very quiet in this part of the resort. Pool noise was never an issue.
Beautiful property....lots of paths to walk and explore.
I would like to visit again as soon as this bruise heals and I feel comfortable in that pool again.
For the money we paid, we did expect more.

Room Tip: H509, corner King size room.. very nice quiet area away from pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience. While we are happy to hear you found our property beautiful, we are sorry to hear about the issues you encountered. We truly appreciate your feedback and will take all comments back to our team to ensure they get improved and that your next experience will be even better.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

From check in on every answer to every question started with "no". Room not ready as promised. Tossed kids from standing near adult pool as we were only attempting to order them food to be eaten elsewhere. Dining room half empty but stated a table for 5 was a 45 minute wait. Ate in bar where we ordered chips & salsa to start and when we asked what was taking so long they said it was the preparation of the guacamole which we were later told was not part of chips & salsa??? Umbrellas around pool where no one was sitting were not allowed to be moved. Staff overall needs customer service training. And the final blow which prompted this review was an iPhone left in room after check out which we called about within 30 minutes & tracked it to the room, was never returned. The property is in great shape but they need to fix the service.

Room Tip: Suites away from pool area are quiet but then a long walk to lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline M, Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Please accept the sincere apologies of our management team that your stay at our resort was disappointing. The service experiences that you describe are not the standard to which we aspire, nor that our guests have come to expect from The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. On-going training of our service staff will help to improve the interactions our employees have with our guests. It is our stated intent to never say no, and the examples you have given will be useful training tools to discuss better ways to find a solution for every request. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we will use it to provide a better experience on your next visit. Thank you for the opportunity to hear your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The rooms and restaurants are beautifully appointed, and the pools and spas are to die for. It is unfortunate that service was so spotty (great some time, non-existent, other times). For example, one day they would make my bed, but not empty my garbage. The next day, I put the garbage can on my table so they wouldnt miss it- they did indeed empty it, but then they didnt do something else thay had done the day before. Also we were promised that the golf carts were on call 24/7 if needed, but one guest told me how upset she was, that at 11pm, she could not get a golf cart to take her across the vast, dark grounds to her room, and she was thus concerned for her personal safety. There was a noisy party one night, and to their credit the management did work hard to dampen the noise for the rest of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. While we are happy to hear you enjoyed our recent renovation and location, we are sorry to hear that you encountered a few service issues. It is our goal to exceed guest's expectations and deliver superior service at all time. We appreciate your feedback and will take your concerns back to our team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hi there:

I just to say thank you for your attention and the way that the management and Mr. William Arce, they made their better job, in wich my son participate in that incident, i want to say thank you for your cooperation to solve the problem in the better manner.

By the way also i want to say that we spend great time during the weekend and my room was great, just new or recently remodelated.

Sincerely

Aureo Arellano

Room Tip: All the hotel was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Aureo,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. It is our responsibility to respond to guests in need of assistance. We are fortunate to have a team of dedicated service professionals who are trained to act swiftly and properly when the need arises. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had been to this resort a few times some years back and it was nice then. This time, the resort looks great!!!
The pools are a bit different and my 7 yr old loved the slide!!! Nice touch! Also, we used the Westin Kids Club there and that was ok. They accept infants on up. I don't recommend it for older kids like 8+ because they might get bored. It's a couple of rooms with toys, movies and games. The staff are very nice there, though. If you have small children, this is definitely a nice option!
Because our room was "unavailable," we were upgraded to a parlor suite room. OMG this suite is big. We were guessing it is 1000+ sq ft. It had a queen sleeper sofa, a queen murphy bed and of course a king. I imagine it is super pricey in peak season.
The resort was full when we were there on the weekend, but the staff seemed to handle it beautifully. They are as enthusiastic about the remodel as the guests. My only complaint was that our big, beautiful suite was quite a walk from the pools, however, you can always call the front desk to take a golf cart to the pool....

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated pool area. While we apologize your room was unavailable when you checked in, we are happy to hear we were able to upgrade you to our newly redesigned Parlor Suite. We are glad you were able to enjoy our numerous resort amenities and that your 7 year old loved the slide and Westin Kids Club!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Each year we hold a large luncheon at the Westin. Banquet manager, Peter M. and all his staff are amazing. We are treated like royalty on each and every encounter. Requests to change things, even at the last minute, are graciously handled. The food is wonderful. We are also pleased with the event planning staff and the wonderful and hard-working valets who cheerfully haul auction items and other supplies for us back and forth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Kim,

Thank you for your continued business at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. We are beyond thrilled that our staff continues to provide excellent service and helps make your luncheon successful and memorable year after year.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
5.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#3 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
15.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#12 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
3.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#7 Green Hotel in Tucson
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.