We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had the best experience on our first visit to the Westin La Paloma. Not only are the rooms completely redone in soothing colors & amenities, the staff was extremely service oriented. We were celebrating my birthday and when our waiter, Steven Thallberg, found out he sent a bottle of champagne to our room. Steven went out of his way to make sure every detail of our stay was perfect. So refreshing!!

Room Tip: ask for a newly renovated room with mountain views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing about your recent experience. We hope you had a wonderful birthday! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our recently remodeled rooms and that our staff made your stay memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    963
    279
    128
    84
    32
See reviews for
336
330
77
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, MO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We indulged in the pricey Sunday brunch and while it isn't something we'd do often, it's perfect for a special occasion. The hotel lobby and stairway down to the dining area is spectacular and one can easily imagine a movie scene with a beautifully gowned actress gracefully descending the gorgeous marble stairs. The view from the dining table overlooked the huge and inviting pool with the mountains in the background. Service was good and food buffet was delicious, beautiful and bountiful. Would do again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience at The Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday brunch and that the service and view were beyond your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had a great experience at the La Paloma Courtside Deli today. Was a bit hungry after the spa and a workout. Went to the Courtside Deli (came highly recommended) and was delighted with the service I received from Gabrielle Gunton. She was very friendly and recommended a sandwich (California Panini) that was to die for. We had a great conversation and it's nice to see that folks, even in the service industry, still take their job seriously. She is a great asset to that deli and the resort...not to mention the sandwich...ha ha.

Regards,

John from Vegas

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatch, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Spent 3 days during New Years Eve. Perfect getaway! Newly renovated room was very comfortable, especially the Heavely Bed! Spacious room was nice! We were impressed with every aspect of the resort-awesome staff, beautiful facilities, amazing food. It was amazingly quiet, which is what we wanted for this holiday trip. The Red Door Spa was also first-class! We will definitely visit the Westin La Paloma Resort, Tucson, again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay. We hope you had a wonderful New Year's! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our renovated guest rooms and were able to experience the Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently stay at this property about a week ago and from the moment we walked into the lobby we were impressed by the entrance; it makes a great first impression. We had a recently renovated room and was delightfully surprised at how nice it was! My Girlfriend and I really enjoyed the room especially the balcony view overlooking the pool. One your associates stuck out to us the most out of anyone, The Banquet Manager, Peter M. He was so helpful. He introduced himself to us while we were in the lobby marveling at the design so he told us some history of the hotel and took us for a quick little tour of the property. He was so nice and welcoming. We also saw him for breakfast twice and he always greeted us and was helpful with any requests we had. Her certainly made our stay worth it. Peter M is what every hotel needs... he must be an asset to this property! The mountains and the pool area are also gems exclusive to this property. When we come back to stay we want to make sure those three things are still there: The Pool area, the Mountains, and Peter! Staying at this Westin while in Tucson is a must!!!! Oh one downside was the bell man wasn't always greeting us when we were coming in or when we arrived with luggage... but the rest of the service was great! The bartender in the lobby was great (forgot her name) Our server, Jesse, in the morning for breakfast was very nice and probably has one of the best attitudes in customer service we have encountered along with Peter M.

Room Tip: The closer the building the less of a walk with luggage keep that in mind when getting your room ass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting about your recent experience. We are thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We constantly strive to create the best experience for our guests and are delighted to know the setting and staff exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your feedback regarding our bell men - we will take this back to our team.

Safe travels and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We went to Tucson to attend two UofA basketball games. This was our first experience at the Westin La Paloma. Everything about it was great. The room was excellent. We love the heavenly bed. The pools are exceptional. The food at Azul is first rate. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to assist us in all areas. I am running out of superlatives to describe La Paloma. Stay there. You will enjoy it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Gary,

Thank you for your post about your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear your first stay with us was a great experience. We are glad you were able to experience our contemporary dining at Azul and enjoy our pools.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been visiting the La Paloma for many years now, most notably for my wedding someteen years ago. It was a very nice hotel for our wedding but had fallen into disrepair. However, new owners are in the process of renovating the entire place and based on my first visit since they redid the rooms I'd say they have done a great job. The rooms are updated and there is a flurry of activity on the property as renovations continue. The hotel has always had a beautiful lobby, great swimming facilities and a wonderful golf course, but even these areas will see improvements. All in all, I'm a big fan. I don't give it my highest rating only because the renovations are not complete and so I have to reserve final judgement.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a bad room to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayna D, Starwood Hotels at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty over the years and we appreciate your post about your most recent stay. We are delighted to hear you are happy about our recent renovations. We will continue to keep our guests apprised of our renovation schedule on our website and look forward to welcoming you back when our renovation is complete this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin La Paloma Hotel
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson’s iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $30 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort’s renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177’ Sidewinder water-slide; Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; Westin WORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and six exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Starwood, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.