We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Resort but Check Your Statement!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Luxury Resort but Check Your Statement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We checked in right at the 4PM check in time. Much to our surprise our room was NOT yet ready. So our 1st impression was not stellar. We waited in the lobby bar, having a drink til we were called an hour later. I requested that the hotel pay our bar bill for the inconvenience, which they graciously did, no questions asked. From there on in our stay was wonderful. We arrived in our newly remodeled room ( A 301)just in time for a gorgeous sunset view from our balcony. The entire staff from check in, to Betsy at the lobby bar, to Paul, the starter on the golf course were very friendly and accommodating. We had a lovely dinner outside on the verandah. The adult pool was very relaxing. Our only complaint was the housekeeping staff should be increased. Our room, both the arrival date and the following day were not made up until 5PM. We were going to do the express check out until we saw a questionable charge on our statement so we checked out at the front desk. They found the charge in question had been a restaurant meal charged to our room......perhaps inadvertently??? We would like to think so! It was immediately removed from our bill with an apology. We enjoy staying at quality resorts such as the Westin to play golf and will look forward to another stay soon again.

Room Tip: Newly Remodeled Rooms are wonderful. The hotel is currently remodeling all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your posting. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our new guest rooms as well as the service in Azul. I look forward to welcoming you back to relax in our lounge in the evenings as well as golf during the day. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,053
    307
    138
    90
    34
See reviews for
364
357
79
594
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Westin in Tucson in Sept 2012. Having grown up in Tucson, I always heard great things about it so I was anxious to finally try it out. We've stayed at other Westin properties and were impressed. The service was great at this property, but there was construction and lots of it. I would say a full-blown renovation which was much needed. My biggest mistake was not checking Trip Advisor reviews before booking!!! If I had, I would have known about the renovation. They did try to hide the noise etc. by putting us as far away from the units they were working on. But the day we arrived was the day they were working on the entry to the lobby - so you couldn't use the main doors etc., so that was just a minor inconvenience. We got a great deal on the room, so the value was still great and the service was awesome. The pool was amazing, so no issues there...perfect pool temperature and lots of options. The biggest issue for us was the room. There was an old musty smell about it - renovation needed perhaps? We didn't ask to be moved because a) all of the rooms are in need of renovation and b) the view was outstanding and we didn't want to give it up. We bought a candle to burn while we were in the room to cover the smell and just went with it. I'm sure once the renovation is over, it'll be amazing...but I'd wait until then if I were to do it over.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your posting. I look forward to having you back in the New Year to stay in one of our newly renovated guest rooms with the top notch service we provide. Check with us for our continuing great rates and packages. We’ll be waiting to welcome you back to Tucson and La Paloma. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We travel to Tucson one or two times a year and always stay at the Westin La Paloma. We were very lucky this time to be the first guests in one of the remodeled rooms. The furnishings were beautiful and especially liked the flooring. They also did a great job on the bathroom and like the new shower heads. Our favorite person at the resort is Betsy at the Azul Bar. She remembers our whole family and we always look forward to spending time with her. We are looking forward to our next visit when the renovation will be complete.

Room Tip: Even though there were rooms near us that were being renovated, we were not disturbed by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for posting how you enjoyed the remodeled guest room. We appreciate your loyalty. Betsy will be here to welcome you and your family on your next visit. She will be anxious to show off the new Azul to you in the coming year. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Having a short stay here which may be a good thing. Resort is supposedly undergoing renovation, but not sure if I have a newly refurbished room or an original. All I can say is there's a musty odor and an outdated ventilation system. Might look at other resort options if you're coming to Tucson. There are many and I'll bet you can beat the price.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your posting. From your review, I believe that you did not have an opportunity to stay in a renovated room. Call us directly as we may make sure you have a newly renovated guest room for your next visit to La Paloma. I’m certain you’ll be delighted with the new furnishings. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

`Our room had all that we needed, Really clean, the room looked out on the Golf Course, designed by Jack Nicklas. We loved all of the meals. Try the French Toast! Our servers were so helpful and know all the places to visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to La Paloma for continuing great dining experiences along with the great golf & mountain views. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Attentive, responsive and friendly -- the staff at the Westin La Paloma are wonderful. A cheerful greeting each morning and a keen knowledge of what group you're with and where you're meeting. Peter Mnatzaganian is outstanding --

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for posting how our service is always professional and friendly. We hope to welcome you back to La Paloma in the near future. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My recent stay at La Paloma was one of the best vacations I have had in a while! I went with a group of buddies for the weekend and I was very much impressed by La Paloma. The resort had breath-taking views of the foothills of Tuscan. The staff was friendly and very accommodating to any request I had. The updated golf course is world class! A few of us played tennis at the new tennis facilities and it was the nicest tennis courts I have played on for years. They even had a 3 story water slide that made me feel like a kid all over again! I highly recommend La Paloma to anyone who is traveling to Tuscan or to anyone who wants a nice, relaxing, or fun-filled week.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms. They are top notch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for posting how everyone enjoyed their stay & play weekend. As you mentioned our tennis courts are of top quality, surfaced with the True Bounce Resurfacing System and meticulously maintained. I look forward to seeing you and your friends on the SlideWinder soon.We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson’s iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $30 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort’s renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177’ Sidewinder water-slide; Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; Westin WORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and six exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Amex, Orbitz, Otel, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;