We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Desert Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hunt Valley, Maryland
1 review
“Beautiful Desert Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Westin property was gorgeous. Views from the terrace of the main building were amazing. My owm room was on the ground floor, and while the views there were nice, it took just a few steps to view the surrounding mountains.
Upon arrival, a gentleman took me and my luggage to my room via golfcart carefully explaining my best routes to and from the many buildings and services on the property. They also arranged my transportation to the airport very nicely. The wait staff in the restaurant (Azul) was also friendly and efficient. My food was served quickly and was delicious.”

Room Tip: Look for balconies if view is important. My ground floor room was very comfortable for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for posting how much you enjoyed La Paloma for both the views and the excellent service. We look forward to your next visit to treat you to another friendly, relaxing stay. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,043
    301
    136
    89
    34
See reviews for
359
354
79
592
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We are now sitting at the pool as I write this after two nights here for a birthday trip. All of what follows is comparing this resort to the many other high-end luxury resorts we've stayed at over the years. You MUST take one of the newly renovated rooms or don't go! Apparently the resort is just coming out of bankruptcy, and it shows every where. Everywhere you go they are touting their $30 million renovation plan, but as of today only a small part is complete. The renovation plan is great, but it doesn't do YOU any good unless you get one of the renovated rooms. The "old" section is awful; the "new" section is just fine.

BTW, the Red Door Spa is as good as you will find at other really good resorts, and although the prices might seem high, they are virtually identical to all similar resorts

Experience
We were assigned an "old" room. We didn't know to ask for "new". because of AMEX Patinum, we got an "upgraded" room.

It was like something out of the 60's or 70's. Large room, but almost dingy. Amenities were a joke: tiny bottles of shampoo and conditioner and one little body cream. It did have a large flat screen HD TV. Furnishings were tired. Empty refrigerator and no mini bar. Etc. OK if a mid or low level motel chain, but way below any reasonable standard for a luxury resort Well, we thought, at least it's clean. Wrong! There were tiny ants crawling on the sink. It was late and we were too tired to start changing rooms. Bad mistake. In the a.m. There were lots of ants and my wife woke up with some sort of insect bite. We went ballistic!

At least the hotel did the right thing, even if I had to be a bit pushy. They gave us a "new" room for night two. Housekeeping came to our room to clean bugs off our toiletries before we took them with us to the new room. We didn't pay for night one They gave us complimentary breakfatst.

The "new" room is just what you should expect from a place like this. But, it took us half a day to settle down after we changed rooms not the relaxing two days of luxury we had planned.

Finally, the renovations planned for some of the amenities around the hotel and golf course aren't yet done.

Conclusion: this once-great resort is a work in progress. It is likely it will be great again sometime after the first of the year. Wait until then.

Room Tip: You MUST take one of the newly renovated rooms or don't go! Apparently the resort is just comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for posting about your stay. I only wish that we had more of our renovations finished for your visit. As this is a thorough and carefully designed rejuvenation, the accomplishment of renovating every guest room will take a few more weeks. I apologize that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay during this visit. I do hope you will return next year to see all that we have accomplished in just a few months. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a wonderful hotel or is it a spa or is it a resort? It turely is all of these things. Our convention was so well catered to and the servers and employees of the Weston were wonderful! I hope that if you stay here you have the opportunity to have their amazing service staff wait on you. William Arc, Tom Kylen and Serrice were the best. Thank you for all of your help!

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain side have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for posting how we made your convention a pleasure to attend. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next meeting or for a few days to enjoy the pool and Red Door Spa. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I recently worked with the staff of the Westin La Paloma for our annual Women's Leadership Conference with over 500 participants. Such a big event always brings feelings of anxiousness and stress no matter how prepared you are. It was a long day preceeded by a long night of preparation. The staff at La Paloma ...Nancy La Viola, Catering Sales Manager, Peter Mnatzaganian, Banquet Manager, Susan Henry, Banquet Captain, Jeff Yob, Banquet Setup Supervisor, Kyle Fellows and William Arce were absolutely AMAZING!! Anything we needed and requested we received---instantly---with a smile and such professionalism anybody would be impressed. The Westin staff make La Paloma a first-class operation and it's because of Peter, Nancy, Kyle, Susan, Bill Jeff, William and of course, Julie---that we are repeat customers and wouldn't take our business anywhere else. We can't thank you all enough for making our conference and experince at the Westin nothing but THE BEST! See you next year!! Jeanette

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for personally acknowledging our associates that execute the highest quality of service every year for your conference. We take great pride in our resort and this reflects with every interaction we have with each and every guest. We will be ready and smiling for your arrival next year. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This property is currently undergoing a renovation, but this is no way negatively affected our stay. Rooms are very spacious and quiet. During our stay we did not hear any outside noises or our neighbors. The bed was very comfortable and provided an excellent night of sleep. There are several options for drink and food on site but we decided to visit a nearby neighborhood. Bring your swimsuits because there are many option for a good soak. The golf course looks very challenging and was in great shape.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for posting about your quiet, relaxing visit. We hope to have you return soon to enjoy one of our remodeled guest rooms, along with a round of golf. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We drove down to Tucson from Phoenix for a quiet romantic weekend, our stay at La Paloma was wonderful - thanks mostly to Jose Ceballos for taking care of us! When I booked the hotel (I am an SPG member), I had requested a quiet room, however, when we first checked in on Friday, we were initially given a room that was quiet but smelled like someone had spilled an entire bottle of bleach in it - to the point that it made our eyes tear, so the staff at the front desk moved us to a room above the parking lot next to the lap pool - FAR from quiet! When we asked for a quieter rom, no effort was made to accommodate us (unless we wanted a room with two double beds as opposed to the king-sized bed like we had requested/paid for). Enter Jose - when I stopped by the desk on Saturday morning, he quickly made things right and, seeing that we were unhappy with our room - upgraded us to a Master Suite that had a lovely view of the Catalinas & was very quiet! He was also extremely helpful with answering any questions we had & very informative! THANK YOU JOSE!
All-in-all our stay was wonderful - the rooms are seriously in need of updating, they are not dirty or anything like that but the furniture is dated and the decor is tired. They are in the process of updating all of the hotel & the reason Jose didn't put us in one of the new rooms is (how considerate is this) he knew that there was still an odor from painting/carpeting, etc. in the "newer" room. The other reason our stay was so wonderful was thanks to Brittany & Mike at the swim up bar - they were a pleasure to talk to & made our time "cozied up to the bar" so enjoyable!
Only drawback if you are looking for a couples weekend is that there seem to be a lot of conventions going on so it has a corporate feel in the lobby and restaurants.
We will certainly come back since the grounds & amenities and most of the staff are so great.

Room Tip: The rooms in building "H" where we stayed were quiet and had beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for posting how we were able to personally complete a great weekend for you. Please do give call La Paloma directly, connect with Jose, as he will be delighted to create another great stay for you. The paint has dried a newly remodeled guest room is ready for you to enjoy. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennslyvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 days recently at this resort and really enjoyed ourseves. Check in and out were effortless and the bill was correct. I am an SPG Gold member and so had a deluxe room facing the mountains and have to say that the views were great. We also had the opportunity to use the health club and the pools and enjoyed both. The property was spotless and our accomodations were roomy and comfortable. All in all a place that I would highly recommend for someone who wants to spend some quality time in Tucson.

Room Tip: You want to get a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review of La Paloma. We hope you and your wife will be back soon to Tucson and out on the golf course, by the pool and enjoying the mountain views. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson’s iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $30 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort’s renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177’ Sidewinder water-slide; Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; Westin WORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and six exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Amex, Otel, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.