We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good first impression, then not so much...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4930 West Ina Road, Tucson, AZ 85743 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #37 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good first impression, then not so much...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stopped for one night, arriving around supper time. Our first impression was very favorable. The room was clean and comfortable, and the hotel seemed quiet. However, that was before the whistle from the nearby train woke me several times in the night. Not much soundproofing from the outside. Nor from the hallways, where the 5 to 6 am door shutting and walking came right through the door. But my real gripe was to discover in the morning that the toilet would not drain anything other than water, Okay, things happen When we went downstairs for breakfast, I told the Front Desk about the toilet, and mentioned that we would use use the lobby rest room. No apology about the problem in the room, no comment of appreciation that we were offering to use the lobby rest room rather than making the problem worse in our room. Things happen, but when they do, simple apologies are in order. We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we regret that we have not met your expectations.
We hope to do better on your next visit to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
34
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Enjoyed the rooms and amenities. However, a more visible sign on Ina Road between the Dennys and gas station would help find this gem. Because a diabetic was in my party, I hope they will offer sugar-free syrup at their breakfast in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our stay: We were here 12 nights for the Tucson gem and mineral shows. This hotel worked really well for our trip. Easy access on and off the interstate, short drive from the hotel to downtown Tucson, we don't need to be closer to downtown. The staff was good, the rooms were kept clean, breakfast was good, every morning there were cheese omelets and either sausage or bacon and the ever present waffle maker, along with the usual cold complimentary breakfast items. If you want better coffee there's a Starbucks across the road.
Our room had a comfortable bed, fresh linens daily, large lcd tv (though only analog cable channels [*sigh*]), wifi worked well. Really I don't have anything worth complaining about. We will stay here again the next time we visit Tucson on business.

The most common complaint, other peoples, not ours. The trains. Yeah, there's a busy track nearby. Yes there's an intersection so the trains have to blow their horns. Yes the trains run 24 hours a day. It didn't bother us. It does bother some people, a lot. Something to consider, the track runs parallel to the interstate, most hotels are near intersections next to the interstate (and therefore the tracks). Very few hotels will be well insulated against train horns. I would expect most hotels near I-10 to have nearly the same noise levels from the train. If you think trains will be a problem for you, look for a hotel well away from the interstate.

Room Tip: The backside of the hotel angles somewhat away from the interstate and nearby railroad tracks, those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and that you have enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Comfortable room. Clean. You can set your watch by the trains passing by every hour. Maybe better on other side of bldg. Breakfast was adequate. No better nor worse than Embassy Suites or Hampton. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we regret about the train noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I'll start off by saying we have lived in very noisy neighbourhoods and stayed next to trains, airports, and currently live in a high density area.

Yes, the train is very active and because it crosses a main road, you will hear the horn all night. We stayed on the top floor across from the Travelodge. Also, very active. A lot of people coming and going at all hours to the hotel. People dropping packages off and women being shuttled. You can figure it out. The parking lot was noisy all night and it was a mess in the morning.

You can definitely hear your neighbours here. We heard every conversation coming from the rooms as we walked down the hallway. The people on one side had their TV loud enough that we gave up trying to watch ours. They finally passed out about 10 (they didn't remember ordering pizza when the lady came to deliver it at 7 p.m.)

We had a couple hours sleep before the racket started on the other side at 1 a.m. I personally went over and asked them to quiet down. That lasted about 10 minutes so I phoned the front desk asking to be moved. First I was told they were full so I said we will have to leave. Then, suddenly they did have a room "but it's on the same floor and it will be louder". I don't know how he knew this but he did know what room was keeping us awake without me telling him. He phoned back about 1/2 hour later, good thing we were still awake! I have a feeling he came by and heard the noise in the hallway. He hesitantly asked if I wanted him to talk to them (he probably just checked them in and knew what he would have to deal with). The person I talked to in that room was extremely intimidating and obviously didn't care so I told him no, we will just wait until it was light enough to drive home. With two hours sleep, we decided that it wasn't smart to drive in the dark. I was willing to take the bedding to sleep in the car but my husband just sat in the chair and waited until morning.

We mostly stay at Best Westerns and have travelled throughout the world, staying in third world countries. This ranks amongst the worst hotel stays ever. At this moment, my husband never wants to stay in another Best Western but he will probably change his mind since the many others have been very good to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We regret that we had not met your expectations.
We hope that you will stay with us another time and we will try our best as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochise county
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wanting to stay over in Tucson after late dining, we chose to stay at the Gold Poppy property on West Ina Road, just off I-10 in Marana, minutes outside of Tucson . We chose this spot because of it' proximity to the downtown and the attractive price.
On-line reservations werer a breeze, check in was quick and easy.
The room was small but very comfortable and user friendly. No mold, plenty of hot water and quiet!
There was a complimentary breakfast offered, but we declined.
Our dining out experience and overnight stay was less than just a room in downtown!!
I would recommend and use this property over and over.

Room Tip: Our second floor room facing another property reallly caused a buffer for I-10 traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi k, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and that you have enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn

Address: 4930 West Ina Road, Tucson, AZ 85743 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Tucson
#35 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Hotel Tucson
Comfort Inn Tucson
Tucson Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.