We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more Clarion for me” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Downtown Tucson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn Downtown Tucson to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Downtown Tucson
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   750 W. Starr Pass Blvd., I-10 & Frontage Road Exit 259, Tucson, AZ 85713 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Tucson Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #110 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Glendale, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“No more Clarion for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Uncomfortable beds, dirty carpet, noisy AC, not enough towels for 3 people,lack of variety in free breakfast, dirty towel, and dirty bathroom.

We had already made reservation and did not have another choice but to sleep here on our way to Mexico from Los Angeles. Although customer service was great, the room was just not comfortable or cleaned at all. We just wanted to get out of there and hit the road.

Maybe we chose the wrong hotel, but it did offer convenient location close to freeway entrance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    13
    7
    11
See reviews for
15
11
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellton, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Hotel staff was very nice and did a great job keeping the team on the same floor and close to each other. They even made sure we had the room with an adjoining door so we could keep an eye on the girls. The breakfast was okay they just need to keep it stocked better.
Downside rooms do need an uplift they are old and you can see where the paint is coming off the walls and the tubs need to be replaced they are useable but needs repairs. There is no maintence after 5p and I wasn't thrilled about having to unclog the girls bathroom and clean up the mess and then had to take everything down to front desk not what I would call fun.
There is a restaurant right next door and the food is good and at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I thought Clarion was a premium brand? NOT HERE! The hotel is located between the highway and a railroad track. There are several hotels in the area, including this one, with sub 40 dollar prices. My wife would not stay after seeing this place, it is frightening in several ways. Dirty, hot, I have no idea where the photos came from but they do not reasonably represent this hotel. The hotel staff is very poorly trained and is NOT interested in your business, just your money. Noisy bar next door.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. This is a really bad area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Clean and comfortable AND affordable. Staff was very friendly. The breakfast was small and the waffle batter was thin but all in all I consider this one of the best stays of the trip. Room was very clean the bed linens were crisp and clean, the mattress was good. Microwave fridge, and inroom coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and were in Tucson for just one night so we were looking for something cheap and this hotel is not in downtown Tucson, it is in South Tucson which is apparently not an up and coming section of town.
The lady at the front desk had no trouble finding our reservation and she even gave us an upgrade. We had a huge room with a bathroom that had double sinks and a tub/shower combo that had chips but had a great shower head and plenty of hot water.
It needs lots of updating but that will likely never happen so why worry with it when you are not staying a week. I do not ask for more when I pay $50.00.

Room Tip: Rooms away from main highway are the least noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good price and a.c. worked well in the August heat, but the t.v. did not work and the carpets in the building were filthy. Don't take your shoes off! We did not stop for breakfast, but you get what you pay for.......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I just stayed here with my boyfriend this past weekend. We really liked the hotel, the rooms were nice and customer service was good. We had a non smoking room, which means no smoking in the rooms, obviously. They have you sign something that states you will pay 50 dollars if you do, which is normal. Well apparently that means actually having whatever you smoke IN the room. Doesn't matter if you smoked in there or not. So the next week on Tuesday I found out they had taken the 50 dollars out of my account, which also happened to put my account in the negative. I wasn't aware of the charge, so from my bank I got charged 35 dollars. Now I'm out 85 dollars because of this. I called them but was told it's a "he said she said" [--] and they're not going to refund anything. We were going to stay here again next year, but forget that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn Downtown Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Downtown Tucson

Address: 750 W. Starr Pass Blvd., I-10 & Frontage Road Exit 259, Tucson, AZ 85713 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Tucson Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Inn Downtown Tucson 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn Downtown Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Downtown Tucson Hotel Tucson
La Quinta Tucson
Tucson La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Downtown Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.