We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X Points Package
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Arizona
1 review
“Wow! It was Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

It was the best four day trip I've ever had. It was suggested by a friend and I was amazed! The suites were both comfortable and spacious, as well as clean and beautiful. The staff was superb: professional, polite, knowledgeable, and the went above and beyond. The front desk found us great places to visit and wonderful restaurants to experience. They took care of our every need. I've been to such a wonderful place. It was quiet, relaxing and the pool was heated to the perfect temperature. This is a must visit!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    126
    34
    4
    7
See reviews for
134
149
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed at the St Philip's Plaza Windmill for the Gem and Mineral show and were very happy with the accomodations and the wonderful staff. The location is great and you are conveniently located by shopping and great restaurants. St. Philips Plaza hosts a Farmers market every weekend and it was great to browse and buy lotions, pecans, coffee, breakfast, jewelry and fat juicy strawberries and other produce for reasonable prices. The staff are very nice and there are delicious chocolate chip cookies at the front desk every afternoon. The Windmill is an older hotel but the room is clean and things in the room were in working condition. It was quiet on the floor I was on even though the lobby was packed with people enjoying breakfast and the Farmers Market. The hotel is on the 15 mile walking path and is also within walking distance of Starbucks and Sullivan's Steakhouse. I will stay there when I am back in Tucson.

  • Liked — The central location.
  • Disliked — Sticky pocket door.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

This is a great place to stay in Tucson. We were there over a rainy Christmas, so having a suite was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and the tables were in a nice area. Coffee, tea and apples were available all day and cookies were given out in the afternoon. The room had a bar with stools and an area with a frige, Coffee maker (with coffee, tea, etc.) and a microwave. The bedroom had a king size bed, a TV and second sink. The living room had a comfortable couch, TV, desk, extra chair and side tables. All in all we were delighted. Especially since we paid under $100 a night.

  • Liked — All non smoking suites and convenient location
  • Disliked — The rain spoiled our touring!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

We just returned from five nights in Tucson at the Windmill Inn, and we are so happy with our experience. The suite was great for us, two bikes, and our dog and her crate. I loved that the hotel is dog friendly and is really nice at the same time. They do not require a pet deposit, either. The location is also fabulous - right outside of the back door is the Rillito River Path, a paved bike/walking path that goes for at least 6 miles in one direction and a few in the opposite direction. This was great for us and for the dog.

We also got a great rate, even over the holiday. It was cheaper to call the hotel directly than to book through their website. We got four nights for $89 + tax and Christmas night was a little more.

Overall, we were delighted with our stay and would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Breakfast could have had more protein options
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Way way above average! We paid $110 on a Saturday for a suite and it was well worth the money! Would recommend without hesitation!

  • Liked — The suite
  • Disliked — Breakfast was a bit basic for such a nice hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

I stayed at the Windmill Inn for three nights and had a wonderful stay there. The staff were very nice and friendly, and after I checked in to my room they called to make sure everything looked good.

The room I stayed in was a business suite with three rooms. There was plenty of room to sprawl, The hotel is well-kept.

Although I didn't have time to rent a bike, I thought it was very cool that people could rent bikes and ride them in the local park.

This was a wonderful stay, and I recommend it for people on business.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

Wow. What a hotel. This was our 8th vacation in the US. The Windmill Inn was definately the best hotel we had in all those years. We never stay in very luxurious places because what we usually want is just a clean room. At this hotel we got a suite for only $87/night. That includes a small livingroom, bedroom with two double beds, fridge, coffeemaker and microwave in a small kitchen corner, bathroom, patio (3 steps to the wonderful courtyard with pool) and continental breakfast (cereals, danish etc., hardboiled eggs,...). 2 TV's.

Everything was spotless clean. The suite doesn't look like a typical hotelroom...you can walk in a circle (livingroom - bedroom - bathroom - 'kitchen' - livingroom). The staff is very friendly and helpful (the printer in the businesscentre was broken, so the girl at the front desk took the time to print our bordingpasses from her computer). Fresh cookies every day after 4pm.

The location is nice too: It's located on St Philips Plaza with a couple of (expensive) shops. Great italian restaurant (Vivace) around the corner. Trader Joe's across the street. Lots of coffeehouses a couple of minutes (car) away on Campbell Avenue.

We were so glad with our room and the hotel in general. We can't think of anything that we didn't like! For us it was heaven (especially if you consider the fact that other hotels for 80-90$ are something totally different...). Every picture you see on their website is actually true.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Tucson
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.