We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good suites, nice pool and location. Undergoing reconstruction with low impact” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good suites, nice pool and location. Undergoing reconstruction with low impact”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We did not know about the extensive renovation going on in one wing of the hotel but it had limited impact on our stay (see below breakfast and pool). Price was probably reflective of the condition of the hotel and slight inconvenience of the renovation. Hotel is in a nice location, 20 min from Sabino Canyon and from Mt. Lemmon scenic byway. There's also a nice selection of dining options in the nearby plaza and we also got food to go at the Trader Joe very close.

Our suite was a 2-room suite in C entrance (facing the river) and unfortunately not facing the pool area so without patio. It was well designed with both room having their own access to the bathroom. The TVs were dated (kinda small and no flat screen) but having one in each room was a plus. It had a medium-sized fridge, a small sink and a small bar. It was very quiet at night too and during the day, we could not hear much of the reconstruction. Unfortunately, our suite was on the side where trash collection happened early in the morning so that woke us up. Wifi was fast enough for streaming Netflix on the kids' tablets.

The flow in the hotel was kinda annoying. To go between our room and the lobby/breakfast area, we had to swipe our room card twice each way to unlock various doors. Seemed a bit excessive considering you need your room card to enter the hotel in the first place (aside from the lobby entrance). If you're carrying luggage or have your hands full, it's a bit of a hassle.

Pool and spa area was well designed but unfortunately without much chaise space. Also, it was not kept very well cleaned with tons of leaves and flowers from a nearby tree. I didn't mind cleaning it myself but still, not very good impression. It was also right next to the wing being renovated so not the best view or with a bit of noise from workers. Not a big deal in evenings though.

Breakfast area was rather tiny and selection felt a bit subpar probably due to the reconstruction going on nearby. Hopefully it improves once the reno is done.

Overall, a pretty good stay but pool and breakfast could have been better.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the pool on the first floor to avoid morning trash collection noise and have your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    123
    32
    4
    7
See reviews for
130
146
40
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here during a time that the hotel is undergoing renovation, so there were some aspects that could have been better. However overall we had a positive experience. We are a family of four and booked a two-room suite on the ground level adjacent to the pool. This means that we had our own small patio and could walk out the patio door directly to the pool area, which was a big plus! Unfortunately my child overheard some adult language from the construction workers while he was in the pool area. Breakfast was limited compared to what they usually offer (again due to construction) but it was good. When we checked in the front desk associate informed us of the construction and the limited breakfast but assured us that there would not be construction noise outside of a 9am to 6pm window. True to her word, we experienced no issues with noise. The hotel is in a good location with several dining and shopping opportunities nearby. We would stay here again but hopefully after the renovations are complete.

Room Tip: If you will be using the pool, choose a room on the ground floor with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Kristen E--

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay. We are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable. Our patio rooms are great for familys who enjoy their time at the pool. We look forward to having your family back to visit our property when visiting Tucson in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We happened to be in town right around graduation, so our hotel options were limited and we needed something for that night. As frequently happens to us when we book a room at the last minute, it was an accessible room with a really terrible shower. I'm not sure if all of the hotel's showers are this spastic, but we were alternately scalding and freezing.

The room was a suite, so there was plenty of space. But it was super dated and just a bit cheap looking. Not a big problem or anything, but if aesthetics are important to you, be aware that this place will take you right back to 1989. Another weird thing -- the frame print above the bed was clearly hung upside down. It's as if no one took much care in decorating or updating these rooms. Incidentally, most of the other people staying here seemed to be senior citizens (but that could be a function of relatives in town for graduation?)

For us, the location was a bit out of the way, but it seems like there are plenty of food options in the plaza around the hotel, so it may not be inconvenient for others. The staff at check in was very helpful. We did not stick around for the breakfast because it was a total zoo and way over crowded.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear pourtant--

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on your stay. We apologize your stay was not up to your expectaions. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations. We hope that in your future travels to Tucson you give us another chance to exceed your expecations and will choose re-visit our rebranded hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

While the room furnishings were dated, the helpful staff, good breakfast, pool & patio were great. The restaurants in the same plaza were in a lovely setting and had good food. A nice stay in the Tucson area.

Room Tip: rooms with patio worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Doreenelizabeth--

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. We hope that in your future travels to Tucson you will re-visit our remodled hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona, british columbia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My room was spacious with some good lighting and seating.
It was clean though somewhat dated.
The bed was soft, which i like.
Breakfast was uninspiring, typical of mid-priced hotels.
(many Hilton Garden Inns seem to have nicer breakfasts)
The breakfast area is somewhat sparse.

The staff was polite, helpful and effective.
I had a scheduled medical procedure and my ride was not due until noon.
The front desk kindly allowed me to check out an hour late.

Overall a very decent hotel but nothing special.
I will stay there again, especially since I love the Plaza and its shops, patios and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear elderlyones--

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Windmill Suites. We will be renovated this summer and are looking forward to all of the changes to come. We love our location within the St. Philip's Plaza. We hope that in your future travels to Tucson you will re-visit our remodled hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west springfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Love everything about this hotel. We had a patio room which I recommend, Pool was just steps away and it is so nice to just sit outside and enjoy the sunshine. Room was nice, beds comfy. Kitchen is tiny with no utensils so be prepared for that. Pool is beautiful and well taken care of. Sunshine most of the day. Breakfast is great. Waffles, yogurt, eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, bagels, toast, pastry etc. They have fresh apples out on the counter most of the day and warm cookies about 4ish every afternoon. Yummy. The front desk is super friendly, especially Karrissa who checked us in. If you need something they will go above and beyond to find it for you. Beautiful view of the mountians. Malls close by and Campbell has just about everything you may need. Short drive to UA and about 20 minutes from the airport. Old Tucson and the desert museum is about a half hour drive.

Oh and the comment about the tv in one of the other reviews...who is hanging out in thier room watching tv? It serves it's purpose and had no issues, then again we were always out doing something even if it was just sitting by the pool.
The employees are fantastic...everyone greats you with a good (morning, afternoon, evening) and a smile and the front desk was superb!

Room Tip: We were located on the first floor, double beds, patio room. we could walk right out to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear mich030--

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We hope that in your future travels to Tucson you choose to stay at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

How this hotel gets good reviews I have no idea. No service ( we weren't told about free cookies, drinks or given any info on facilities when we arrived). Pool area uninspiring and rooms awful- very outdated, beds uncomfortable and walls paper thin, heard the ice machine very time it was used and when the person in the next room had a shower in the morning it felt like he was right next to me. Breakfast ok, although cups etc all polystyrene so not environmentally friendly. Saving grace was the fact it was in a mall so a couple of good restaurants within walking distance. We paid the same mount of money to stay in an amazing hotel near Phoenix, so this was really poor value

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear bruisyard-

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on your stay. We apologize your stay was not up to your expectaions. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations. we hope that in your future travels to Tucson you give us another chance to exceed your expecations and will re-visit our remodled hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#31 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.